Friday’s Link Love

Wow, this week has actually been weird.  I’m trying to give up soda so in some ways in was really speedy and in others, I was tired and it seemed to have dragged out.  I have about 5 sodas that are in the pantry at my house (apparently I can drink warm diet generic soda, who knew?) and I’m trying to keep it that way.  I had to do this a few years back due to me having seizures from a concussion (LOOONG story) but as I’ve been seizure free for over 5 years, I’m not on the medicine.   This means I was able to drink soda and that means I had to pay for it and account for the liquid calories when I wasn’t drinking diet.  So in order to save some money on my grocery list, I am trying to have no more soda (knock on wood).

Now I’ll leave you with some reading that I found amazing: (and these were tough choices as most of them had multiple great posts!)

Erika from Shopping to Saving wrote about not comparing yourself to others.  I couldn’t agree with her more.

Mo’ Money Mo’ Houses blogs about 2012 wedding trends.  I am one of those people going with the cake but I also am hosting a potluck bbq as my reception so I think I’m okay with that.

Michelle at Making Sense of Cents writes about how her sister is coming to live with her.  I thought this was great—especially the part on how she is planning on saving the rent paid to her as a gift to her sister when she moves out.

Erin at the Dog Ate My Wallet talks about the plans they have or that are in the works for the windfalls that fell their way.  I am truly sorry about the reason that they have the windfall though.

Frugal Portland gives us 10 frugal tricks—I’m trying the no shampoo thing and we’ll see how it goes.

Crystal at Budgeting in the Fun Stuff is cutting back in order to have the money needed for their new house but still making sure to keep the fun stuff.

Counting All My Star’s husband is getting on the same track with budgeting and saving for items rather than just buying them.  This is always awesome news!

Daisy at When Life Gives You Lemons  gives some great tips on how to motivate yourself.  I personally love the taste test advice and the little kola.

The Happy Homeowner shares her accomplishment of running the Boston  Marathon and relates it to finances.

20’s Finances talks about how to budget for vacations.  I’m looking forward to taking my first real vacation next year and I’m looking forward to paying for it in cash!

Vanessa from Random Thoughts and Acronyms  discusses the rules for elevators.  I loved them all.

Newlywed’s on a Budget shared how they deocrated their new house–I think it looks wonderful and got some nifty ideas for my house!

Cait from Blonde on A Budget shares great news with us–she’s my birthday twin! Oh, wait…that wasn’t the great news.  It’s that she has a positive net worth!

TeacHer Finances brings up that geography does matter when doing budgets and general advice doesn’t always take everything into account.

Andrea at So Over Debt tells us about 10 financial mistakes that she hasn’t made.  I wish I could say the same–I have done one of them.

Have a great weekend! (maybe I should have broken this up into 2 posts….but hope you enjoy!)


6 Comments on “Friday’s Link Love”

  1. Thanks for the link love<3 I will help keep you accountable for that no soda thing haha because i really need it for my addiction to coffee. i have a feeling now that i will be back in school, coffee will play a maaaajor role in my life :X

  2. amazonv says:

    Swap to tea! loose leaf tea is not expensive, most grocery stores have it, you can make iced tea and keep it in the fridge, hot tea if you want something hot, and unless you add a lot of sugar – no calories!

  3. Cait says:

    Bahaha… twins! Thanks for the link love 🙂

  4. Soda water, or seltzer — has the bubbles but no sugar or fake sugar. It’s awesome, and will help you SO much more than just drinking plain water.

  5. Thanks for the shout out! And going with a cake is a great idea. I mean, it’s one of the things I’m looking forward to! I just really love cake though haha


Leave a comment