What are you waiting for?

                Sometimes I really want to go back in the past and give the old me a stern talking to and the “LOOK”.   I also want to give random people and friends/family of mine this talking to.  I’ll go into why I want to give my past me that talk as it’s the same reason(s) that I want to give it to other people.  This way everyone will know I’m not being hypocritical.

                A long, long time ago, way back when dinosaurs roamed (okay *maybe* not that long ago—I’m really only going on 28 but I feel much older some days), I knew I needed a budget.  But some of my reasons behind not doing one were so horrible.

                I don’t know how. Um really? I didn’t know how to take a piece of paper and write out categories for my incoming money?  What this really meant was I was too lazy to do so—that and I wanted to spend money without feeling guilty.  So what if that guilt just laid in wait for a few years and ambushed me recently? That didn’t matter to past me!  I could have googled it, read a book, asked a question or whatever else I needed to do to figure out how.

                I’ll do it at New Years.  Okay honestly, what was I thinking?  I would say this in February and conveniently forget about it when New Years came around.   Also, what was wrong with doing it right then and there? Besides the fact that I didn’t want to of course.

                I’m bad at math. Okay this one is true but so what? Maybe I was really living in the dinosaur age or something and didn’t know about that handy, dandy (did you think I was going to say notebook?) calculator? Or how to plug in a “formula” in excel.  As long as I can enter in the number correctly that should not be a problem. 

                These were just some of my most readily offered excuses as to why I didn’t budget.  What was I waiting for? Apparently to get myself in deep debt and make it harder for me now.  Oh wow! I accomplished that goal! Okay but seriously, I wish I hadn’t waited.  Life would be a little bit easier at the moment.  But it’s like all goals—starting is usually the hardest thing.  I know it is for me and the evidence is the above excuses and my debt of course.  But, once started, it gets a lot easier. So if you haven’t started a budget, what are you waiting for?

8 Comments on “What are you waiting for?”

  1. Great post–I think sometimes people allow their lack of knowledge and/or fear to paralyze them. The key is to just do it–even if it’s little by little because every bit adds up to getting you closer to where you want to be!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thanks 🙂 I wish I would have thought of this much earlier but I can’t wipe away my past. Instead, I hope younger generations can learn from my past mistakes.

  2. MommaStar says:

    I think most people learn the hard way. What matters now is that you know now what you didn’t know then and move on. I sometimes dwell on my pass but it’ just makes me sad/mad so instead I’m doing now what I didn’t do then. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      I dwelt on it enough to motivate my butt into doing something about it and try hard not to dwell now. Mainly, it was funny to hear people offering up the same excuses that I used to that inspired this post 🙂

  3. This reminds me of that song…Whatcha waiting forrrrrrr????

    But it’s true. I was once in a haze for 2 years, just putting off a lot of things in my life. I was in a slump and I had no idea what to do. Finally I decided that I was going to stop doing things without thinking or planning. That’s when I finally took control of my finances and it was the best decision I have ever made. The hardest part is starting something – even though I love the gym, I hate taking breaks because when I start up again, I have trouble finding the motivation!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I am the same way-I cannot take breaks or it’s really rough for me. It’s also why I really dislike borrowing money from other funds–I get so discouraged and don’t want to restart all over again.

  4. JAMES says:

    We all wish that we had the information before we made the mistakes, but let’s face it, we are all stubborn and rarely listen to anyone regardless of how wise they are. We have to experience and make the mistakes ourselves.

  5. I have a magnet with that phrase! There used to be a guy in our office would just sit at a chair that we had in the main office – to waste time so that he wouldn’t have to work. But it was distracting, because he was right in front of my desk! We bought that magnet and put it on there and I don’t think he ever noticed.

    I’m glad you’re not waiting to make your financial decisions! I’ve got more than a decade on you and I waited way too long.


Leave a Reply

