Updates

Thank you to everyone for the encouraging words yesterday. I do feel pretty nifty about getting to start paying on that loan for real.  And sadly, we have basically made up our minds to stay where we are for a year (read about the dilemma here).  There’s a bunch of stuff that’s going on (that I don’t want to get into on a blog where some people *may* find it) that sort of made this choice for us.  But we’re going into it knowing what’s up.  We’re continuously looking at our ceiling for any spots that look like they might fall and thankfully, none have turned up.

In the long run, another year and 2 months won’t hurt here and might actually help us out by being able to save more money.  I do think that we will try to ask for a 6 month lease instead of a year lease though.  This way we can slowly save up the money rather than stretching ourselves pretty thin when it comes to money.  It doesn’t change the fact that we are going to be living paycheck to paycheck for a while but it does change the fact on where our money is going to go.   But a 6 month (if the landlord goes for it) will help with my sanity (knowing that if we can save up money we can leave) with the small exception of the wedding planning.  If we found something in June (which is when a lot of rentals become available around here) it would mean moving a few weeks before the wedding.   I am pretty sure I can handle it as we moved into this house in one day (packed the night before and that was it).

We’ve come to terms with it like I said and I’m sure it will only make us stronger and more committed to better managing our finances.

23 Comments on “Updates”

  1. Michelle says:

    I hope everything is going alright! If you ever want to talk, just email me 🙂

  2. That sucks that you’ve decided not to move, but hopefully it just means you’ll be more prepared for when you finally do move. Keep on plugging away, I know it can be hard sometimes.

    • bogofdebt says:

      That’s what I”m hoping for. And maybe when we do move, we can get new furniture for the living room or dressers. Which would be nice not having to move the ones we are currently using!

  3. I think you made the right decision for your finances. It’s only temporarily. You will only be there a year max, gotta think long term 🙂

  4. Glad you resolved that issue. With all the damage the house has, I would HOPE the landlord would go for a six month lease. Geez!

  5. Hey Bog – can’t you rent month to month after you’ve been somewhere a year?

    • bogofdebt says:

      Good point-I need to re-read the lease and double check to make sure we were protected during this. ( I wouldn’t want to be kicked out if we were unprepared for the move because they found a long term renter, you know?)

  6. I think you guys are doing awesome! As a landlord- I can say that they will probably let you sign a 6 month lease since you are already living there. They likely just want you to stay as long as possible- the less turnover the better. I have let people do it several times!

  7. John S @ Frugal Rules says:

    It sounds as if you made the right decision for you. Sometimes the hard short term decisions help out a lot for the long term. Like previously mentioned, I would look at the possibility of just going month to month. I know my wife and I did that several times while we were renting.

  8. debtsntaxes says:

    It would be nice if you could secure the 6 month lease although by what you have told us about your landlord before I’m doubting he will go for it (he seems like an a-hole). We ended up moving into our home about a week before we got married and it went pretty smoothly. Hopefully your landlord will be cool though and let you get the 6 month lease.

  9. iheartbudgets says:

    At least you have a little direction now, even if it’s not the best. Hope it all works out, and glad you are making some progress on the loan 🙂

  10. Good luck sticking it out! A six month lease does add a nice out in case things get worse.

  11. It’s unfortunate that the house is in such bad condition, but at least you have an “end date” now that you can look forward to. Whenever the current living situation annoys you, just think of all the money you are saving!


Leave a Reply

