More wisdomy words

Today is my mom’s birthday and I wanted to share some things I learned. I’ve already shared her words of wisdom concerning mistakes here.  But I learned  a lot from her-some of it was recognized while she was alive and others…well, I get  the lesson now at least!

Don’t say things you’ll regret later.  You can never take back words so even if you apologize they are still hanging out there.  Try to think  about what you are saying before you say it, even in an argument.

Speaking of arguments: best way to diffuse an argument is to remind the other person you love them. I would get so mad at her because we’d be arguing over something and she’d stop, look at me and say “Just so you know, I still love you and always will.”   It’s really hard to have a comeback to that.

Someone can always have it worse so make sure that you are thankful and thoughtful.  We were very poor growing up as I’ve mentioned a few times but she always maintained that it could get worse.  We had family and needed to remember that.  Unless we had no food, we always gave some away to food donation places.  She is another reason why I try not to judge people–you don’t know the full story so one shouldn’t make snap decisions.

Make sure to laugh often. Even if I was having a super bad day, she’d remind me to laugh or smile.  As I mentioned above, someone can always have it worse.  Plus, smiling makes you feel better.

Don’t wait forever. I was always horrible at this-I’d take so long to make a decision that sometimes I would miss out on opportunities.  She followed her gut a lot and went with the flow.  I am a planner and hate change–she was the first one to help show me that sometimes, you need to just go for it.

It’s okay to be afraid. My mom and I had a great love of horror movies and (still to this day this is true)  I had an over active imagination.  I’d leave the light on while sleeping sometimes because I couldn’t be in the dark (usually after just watching a new horror movie).  I’ll admit to being ashamed of it for a while but I’m okay with it now.  She told me she did it herself for a while–she was afraid of the dark until she passed away and usually had one light on in the house because of it.

Let others know you love them. Don’t be afraid to share your feelings–yes, they might not get reciprocated but that is okay.  Not everyone will love you but the world can always use more love.  (Just not the creepy stalker kind, k?)

Happy Birthday to my mom and I’m glad she’s watching over me.  I miss her every day.

22 Comments on “More wisdomy words”

  1. Michelle says:

    Awww great post! I’m sure she’s watching over you.

  2. Your mom did good! 🙂

  3. Awe that’s very sweet! Sounds like you got a great momma! Happy birthday to her!

  4. 🙂 Happy birthday to her!

  5. Awwh, sorry to hear about your loss. Those are all very good lessons to live by.

  6. This post is a great way to honor your mom on her bday. Lots of good stuff here.

  7. My mom was big on always reminding us that things could be so, so much worse. It was annoying to me as a self-centered teenager, but now that I am grown I’ve been a not-so-self centered adult thanks to her.

  8. Great words of wisdom here. We can get so caught up in day-to-day, it’s easy to lose perspective. Thanks for sharing these with us.

  9. DebtKiller says:

    All of this would have been great advice for my soon-to-be-ex-wife. I wish she saw this about 18 months ago.

  10. hugs on your mom’s day. glad she could teach you so much!

  11. A very sweet post. Happy birthday to your mom, sounds like she was an awesome person.


Leave a Reply

