Spending Recap 8/20-8/26

Monday $76 auto place (car fund)

Tuesday no spend day

Wednesday $4 milk

Thursday no spend day

Friday $11 Mall Deli (yum!)

Saturday $185 auto place (with a return of $27), $37 drug store, $246 grocery store, $37 drug store, $34 gas

Sunday no spend day

Ouch.  Good news is that we *think* we have the car figured out for now! So maybe a honeymoon after all! It did suck though-we had to take money from a fund that was not for this purpose.  Which sets us back farther there but our car has been starting up now and the lights are brighter. If we can just make it last enough for us to get a little lot set aside for a new to us car.  So keep sending good thoughts my way, please. Oh and that battery jumper purchase of $76? A great investment as we kept having to jump it to start it.

And by the way? Ouch at the grocery store. $20 of it was able to come out of out medical fund because I bought some protein stuff for my fiance-he enjoys drinking it after his work out and as he doesn’t particularly like working out? I figure it’s well worth it.  But we seemed to be low on everything.  No chicken, hamburger, toilet paper, out of spices, no toothpaste, no floss, no deodarent…it was just never-ending.  Thankfully I found some good deals on everything.  Not really great deals as it still cost me a lot of money but better than nothing.  We’ve also tried this thing where I go shopping by myself. I get up early which is better for Wal-Mart runs and he likes to sleep in.  I bought a few wrong things but I don’t think I did that bad all things considered.

Insanity update

Going on our fourth week into this.  It’s getting…well, easier isn’t the word as you can always push yourself a little farther each time.  But it’s at least getting better-less breaks and I’m able to push myself that little bit more every day.  We had the fit test last Monday and we both lost weight.  I lost 4 pounds! No inches yet but the 4 pounds was nice.  Especially as I only ran on Monday, Saturday and Sunday last week.  The whole issue with the car meant I wasn’t going to the gym and Friday I worked through lunch.  Next week is the “rest” week and I’m kind of looking forward to it.  Plus, I found two free runs for next month!  (Free unless I want to own shirts but free sounds so good to me!)

How was your weekend? Did you have cookie gnomes?  I made some home made chocolate chip cookies and every time I turned my back?  More cookies were missing.  My fiance swore he saw a gnome running off with them…

 

23 Comments on “Spending Recap 8/20-8/26”

  1. mycanuckbuck says:

    That seems to happen a lot with cookies! So impressed you’re sticking with the Insanity program. My weekend was lazier, but I did catch up on paperwork and things.

  2. Michelle says:

    I go grocery shopping by myself also. We find that we buy a lot less when it’s just me!

    • bogofdebt says:

      That’s why I hope that I get to continue to do this by myself. He just needs to write down exactly what he wants and I’ll be good to go. Apparently he’s sick of baked Cheetos-but I just had “Chips” written down. So I say it’s his fault 😉

  3. I hope you do get to go on a honeymoon afterall! Do you know where you want to go yet?

    • bogofdebt says:

      we’re thinking of this little resort towns that are near us. It’d be cheaper as we could drive (so renting a car and hotel would be travel expense instead of flight and hotels) so we’re thinking of that and then saving up for a Jamiaca or Hawaii or Vegas vacation a few years later.

  4. Cookie gnomes..how cute! I like it when my BF comes with my grocery shopping-he’s better at spotting the deals and looking at the price per unit than me. Have a great week!

  5. I always seem to have the grocery store moment where one trip is outrageous because I run out of everything! I splurged on a massage yesterday (gasp!!). It was totally worth it!

  6. bogofdebt says:

    That sounds worth it! I want to splurge on one of those but I’m going to hold off for a bit–thinking one day of my honeymoon will be “Spa” day

  7. hehe the cookie gnome. I may have one of those around my place too… Way to go on the 4 lbs, I’m sure you’ll begin to notice drastic results with inches as time goes on!

  8. debtsntaxes says:

    Congrats on making it so far into Insanity. How do your knees feel? I’ve heard that program is tough on them which makes me hesitant to do it.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I have bad knees (years of running and torn menisci (? or meniscuses…whatever the plural is!) and it’s not to bad. I exercise on a rug we bought at Best Buy so that could help. I haven’t had to break out my knee brace so that’s always a plus!

  9. Rachel says:

    I would love to spend $250 on groceries!! Yay!

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was good and it wasn’t. I don’t like spending that much on it just because I know we could use it elsewhere but at the same time? I was comfertable spending it because I knew I kind of needed to.

      • Rachel says:

        I remember you needed TP — I bought four rolls, then one more to just get by. I need to find a good deal and stock up again!

      • bogofdebt says:

        I know! I found a great deal the last time (spent $5 for the 9 pack mega (3x bigger) rolls but it was back up to $11 so I’m still hunting for a better deal.

  10. Hopefully your car holds up, Bog… Your honeymoon is such an important time for your new marriage.. I really hope that you get to have one..

    • bogofdebt says:

      It’s looking like it right now. Actually started up this morning! We have to turn it off really carefully right now–which is a pain but I don’t know if I want to spend $200-$300 on getting that fixed. That could be money for our new car!

  11. LOL @ the cookie gnomes…. mine are called teenagers. 😛


Leave a Reply

