Friday’s Link Loving

It’s Friday! And a lovely payday Friday at that.  Those are the best so I’m trying to cheer myself up right now. What with the car issue and the potential of us not doing a honeymoon until a year after the wedding, I’m pretty bummed.  But thankfully, I have reigned in my spending impulses so far.  For instance, Wednesday, when we bought the car jumper kit? I really wanted to just go and buy lunch even though I had a lunch packed.  I talked myself out of it and feel all the better for it.

So on to some weekend reading:

Jeremy at Modest Money has another great post (well it was a guest post but still a great post!) for blogging tips.  This week was some tips on where to get content ideas.

Michelle at Making Sense of Cents wrote a nice post asking if you want to be self employed. She gives some pros from being self employed and from being an employee.

Debt and Taxes wrote a post on why he blogs.  I’m glad it wasn’t an “I’m leaving the blogging world” post! And like him, I get thrilled whenever I see a comment on a post I wrote.

Kris at Balancing Money and Life quit her job! I’m so glad she’s out of her toxic work environment (or will be soon!) and found something new to do!

Lauren at L Bee and the Money Tree wrote a great post about new home budget busters.  Plus make sure to check out her new site design!

Michelle at See Debt Run has a recipe for crock pot stew that’s married with chili. It looks yummy and reminds me that eventually I would love to have a crock pot!

Teacher Finance wrote a great post on how to help build your career.

Cait at Blonde on a Budget is in 4 digits for her debt and her net worth.

Average Joe writes how getting out of debt isn’t a goal—it’s a step to your goal.  Right now getting out of debt would mean being able to afford a better car.

Daisy at Add-Vodka just got here first REAL job.  Congrats again to her! It sounds extremely awesome with all the nice benefits.

Holly at Club Thrifty is a real estate addict.  I loved this post-it made my day! Thanks Holly!

Simple Financial Lifestyle asks what you are doing right with your personal finances.  I agree that all too often we focus on what is wrong.

DC at Young Adult Money has joined the Yakezie Challenge!

Kathleen at Frugal Portland wrote a great post about not judging too quickly.  This is something that really resonates with me.

Jordann at My Alternate Life had the universe test her with extra money in her bank account that she knew shouldn’t be there.

Mrs. POP at Planting our Pennies reminds me that it’s better to pay more sometimes.  So true—like I told her, I’ll spend more money on little bags of beef jerkey as otherwise I’ll eat the bigger bag in one sitting.

Money Beagle shows that it doesn’t always pay to buy the bigger sizes—pay attention to unit prices as sometimes it is actually cheaper to buy smaller!

Jana at Daily Money Shot has a confession.  She pays for things that make her life easier.  I do that too!

Edward Antrobus wrote a post about some life lessons that his cat has taught him.  My kitty has taught me many things.

Enjoy  your weekend!

22 Comments on “Friday’s Link Loving”

  1. Thanks for the mention! I can imagine how bummed you must be that you might have to post pone your honeymoon, but maybe postponing it a year will be an awesome way to celebrate your one year anniversary? Might be a silver lining.

    • bogofdebt says:

      That’s our thought too. We might not have to wait a entire year either–it would depend on how much we have saved after a new to us car or if this minor repair would work for a while. And also where we would want to go.

  2. Michelle says:

    Thanks for the link love!

  3. Great roundup! I like the MoneyBeagle post about looking at the unit price, it’s so true! I think I probably pay more attention to that these days than the actual price, lol

  4. Money Beagle says:

    Thanks for the mention. I need to get back in the habit of doing roundups; this is a great reminder. Have a great weekend!

  5. B Simple says:

    Nice roundup. Thanks for including my post. Hope you can enjoy your honeymoon soon.

  6. Thanks for the mention. Have a great day!

  7. You.are.the.best! Thank you for the link loving!

  8. Modest Money says:

    Thank you for including the post on my blog. I know it was actually just a guest post, but it makes me happy that people providing posts for my blog are doing a good job. That sucks about your car and honeymoon, but then you’ll be able to save for an even better honeymoon the year after.

  9. AverageJoe says:

    Hey, I made the list! I was worried I wouldn’t get in, because you have to constantly drag my inane comments out of your spam dungeon. Some day I’ll figure out how to get that fixed. For now, I’m pushing the button and headed to spam-ville. Have a good weekend!

  10. Thanks so much for linking my post, Bobbie! When you’re ready to start crock pot cooking, I will say that yes you have to buy a crock pot first, but your return on investment is very high when you think about all the money you can save making your own delicious, healthy foods!

    I’m so sorry about the necessary decision you made to forgo your honeymoon for your car getting fixed. Hopefully, you and your honey can have a great time anyway and go on a much-needed vacation when your finances have settled a bit.
    -M

  11. debtsntaxes says:

    Thanks for the mention! I get really excited when I see comments from all people, well almost all people. I know it sucks you might not be able to do the honeymoon this year but just think how stress free you will be next year when you are living in a different home. You won’t have to worry about your ceiling falling down when you are on your honeymoon.

  12. Thanks for including us – totally made the weekend start off right! =)

  13. I’m sorry you are thinking about postponing your honeymoon. I really hope that doesn’t happen. 😦

  14. Mike says:

    Another great week of link loving! Thanks for the good reads!

  15. […] When It Makes Cents to Pay More was included in the Carnival of Personal Finance by Eric at NarrowBridge Finance, and by Bog of Debt in Friday Link Loving! […]

  16. Thanks for sharing my post! I’m still terrified, but so excited too!

    Hopefully a solution to your car/honeymoon issues will come along. I know it’s hard to delay something you want so badly.

  17. […] we made BogofDebt’s day, so she gave us a […]

  18. […] Friday’s Link Loving on Bog Of Debt […]


Leave a Reply

