Family Visit

The other day, I had a blast—my brother came and visited, along with my two nephews and his girlfriend.  I haven’t seen them in over 2 years so it was a visit well worth it.  I love my family and as of right now, I really love his girlfriend (who I hadn’t ever met).  As weird as this will sound, she gave me back my brother.  His previous girlfriend was okay but didn’t suit him and he just wasn’t who I remembered.  He was someone I loved but didn’t like much.  After this visit, I was extremely happy to say I like him as well.

We took them out to my future in-laws so that they could meet them and so the boys could go swimming.  It’s, of course, hot out here and we figured that after being in a car for a while, they’d enjoy it.  The youngest one was more hesitant in opening up but boy, when he did, he jabbered on and on.  I went into the pool with them as they didn’t have floaties and there is no shallow end to this pool.  They stood on the ladder and showed me how to cannonball really big (their words).  It was good because while the oldest one can swim a little, the youngest can’t so it showed his trust in me—he knew I’d be there and help him out.

After that, we ate hot dogs and burgers and ice cream.  The youngest one wanted more ice cream and when daddy said no, it mysteriously refilled itself.  I have no idea how the ice cream transported itself from my bowl to his.  His face was priceless when I tapped him on the shoulder and showed it to him.  My brother’s face was also priceless but for a different reason.  Hey, I’m the aunt and can spoil as I see fit, right?  We ran after that—many times and in circles.  Strangely enough, I lost every single race to them.

The next morning, the boys had some yummy donuts that we made sure to buy for them.  We played in the house for a little bit but ultimately, decided to go to the park for a half hour.  I knew they were going to have to get in the car and leave so I figured the park would be fun—they could run some energy off and of course, run the donuts off! There was one sour note and that was in finding out that their mother is telling everyone that I just no longer call them.  Which is sad as I tried to call weekly or biweekly–but after getting voicemail almost everytime and no call backs, it was hard.  Especially when she would say “I didn’t get your message” when she did answer.  But I kept calling for the most part and sent cards on her birthday, Mother’s Day and Christmas and will continue to do so.  Karma will get me back, right?

We had some good pictures afterwards and I had a lot of fun with them.  I’m glad it won’t be two years until they come out again as they are going to be here for the wedding.  They will actually be the ring bearers—I decided on both of them as I couldn’t pick one over the other. They are extremely close and I don’t want to play favorites with them.

And not a lot of money was spent—we added the cost of the food and juice that I bought for them into our grocery bill and I had bubbles for free.  The park was also free as was the swimming.  I love little kids as they are so easy to entertain!  Plus the amounts of hugs, kisses and I love you, Aunt B’s  were priceless!

26 Comments on “Family Visit”

  1. Michelle says:

    That’s great that you got to see them! What a great post 🙂

  2. Family is so important..reading this makes me miss mine! I’ll be seeing them this weekend. It looks like you had a lot of fun.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I did-I’m glad it will only be a year until I can see them again and I’m going to try to talk to them more often. That’s not really in my hands though–which saddens me.

  3. That’s great! Little kids are so cute!

  4. queenlbee says:

    I love hanging out with family. I also love how cheap a family outing can be-and the fulfilment is times a million!

  5. Even though it’s best if my brother never has kids (actually biologically he can’t because of his cancer treatment), I do wish I could be an aunt. It would satiate the need to feel like I was contributing somewhat to raising kids, without ever having to raise them on my own. That’s why as add as it sounds, I wouldn’t mind being a stepparent. Glad you had fun with them!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Can you “adopt” a friend’s child as your neice/nephew? That’s what I did for the longest time–I got to spoil, play and have fun but didn’t have to do any direct raising.

  6. mycanuckbuck says:

    It’s great when they are at an age that simple and fun stuff makes them so happy! Sounds like you had a great visit!

  7. Sounds like a great visit, kids are the best.

  8. Aww that sounds like a nice, and frugal, visit. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      very frugal which was nice as I didn’t have as much notice as I’d like in order to plan things out–which turned out to be a good thing as I might have gone overboard 😉

  9. The ice cream refilled itself?! Amazing! That kind of thing always happens around my mom and Jeff’s mom…lol. Sounds like you all had a great visit. I know exactly what you mean about the girlfriend. When someone you love is dating someone who you….don’t love, it’s hard. Glad he’s got an awesome girlfriend now anyway!
    -M

    • bogofdebt says:

      Ice cream is magical! As is their Aunt Bobbie showing them how to blow bubbles in their drinks…totally by accident. And yes, I’m glad he got someone I actually like–ugh to the previous one who I did try to like.

  10. Aww sounds like you had such a wonderful time! They’ll have this fun swimming memory for years to come.

  11. Wow, someone is an awesome aunt… you can spoil me any day!!! Getting together with my family is something I miss and I hope that people cherish. Not all of us are fortunate to have them close and it’s something I wish one day to do, and that’s go see them. Cheers Mr.CBB

    • bogofdebt says:

      🙂 I try–I figure it’s my auntly duty to spoil all nephews/nieces and friend’s children :D. It is hard being away from family-I only live in the midwest while the rest of my family live on the east coast but even that can be hard to have vists.

  12. debtsntaxes says:

    It sounds like you had an awesome time. I haven’t had get-together with the family at all this year but I think I’m going to take the 6hour drive to my brothers house sometime in September to visit the nephews. It’s also really cool that you have your brother back and that you like his GF. It sucks when they have one you don’t like. Glad you had a good time.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thanks! And yes, having someone have a significant other you don’t like is hard but I do try to be nice even if I don’t like them. I figure that some people might not like me and are nice so I usually let politeness win out.

  13. That sounds like so much fun:) Kids are great! Just wait until you have some of your own. The hard part is not spoiling them yourself. You have to leave that to the aunts, uncles, and grandparents:)


Leave a Reply

