Smarter Things I Did When I Was Younger

I shared with you some of the not so smart things that occurred when I was younger.  I thought I would share with you some of the actual smart things I did.  They weren’t plentiful but I’m okay with that.  (Remember, don’t live with regrets) And yes, some of these smart things didn’t last long but again, no regrets.

I didn’t take advantage of a Christmas present of not paying a credit card.  I didn’t do this a few times and only once was because I’d already paid on my card.  The other two times was because I reasoned out to myself that by not paying the bill, I’d owe more next time (hello, interest) and I’d only spend the money on silly things anyways! I’ll admit that the last time I got this offer it was really hard not to take advantage of it though.

I let family come first.  When my mom was sick and eventually passed away, I gave work very fleeting thoughts.  I actually left work the first day back after she passed away-apparently telling a customer you didn’t want to help them is a bad sign.  In my defense, it was a few weeks before Christmas (I think 2?) and I had to listen to this girl say “I don’t know what to get my mother for Christmas.  Honestly, she doesn’t deserve anything; she doesn’t do anything for me at all. I asked her to buy me these designer jeans and she said no! Can you believe she wanted me to spend my money on them?”   Yeah, that made me tell the customer I had no time to help and I walked away—much better than what I wanted to do.  I went to my manger and said it might be best for me to work when there was very few people around for the next few days. But back to my point; I made sure that I visited with my mom and didn’t let money come first.

I did cut back on spending when I was first starting out.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to buy everyone a Christmas present plus pay my bills, so for a few years, homemade cheesecake was my present to all. It was actually how we found out that my ex-sis-in-law was pregnant: she didn’t really eat sweets at all but had such a craving for the cheesecake she doubled her sweet intake for about a month.  Then she made a call a week later saying that she was pregnant. Very exciting news!

Confirmation numbers and I became best buddies.  And not just the confirmation numbers to online orders but the ones that I received for paying bills I found to be extremely important. One time, there was a glitch with Verizon and they didn’t remove the money from my account.  How cool right? Well, except for the late fee.  But I was able to reverse it by reading that confirmation number.  Same with my credit card—they charged me a late fee, which put me into over limit territory, which gave me that over limit fee too.  Roughly $75ish dollars because of a system glitch was charged to my account but thankfully, I kept the email stating that they had received my online payment a week prior.  So it was reversed and I rejoiced!

Now I’m going to go enjoy some quality time with family instead of worrying too much about work! (Or try not to worry about work…hopefully I succeed!)

 

 

16 Comments on “Smarter Things I Did When I Was Younger”

  1. I’m glad you recognized what you have done well! That’s just as important as recognizing what you need to work on from the past!

  2. Jessica says:

    I never keep my confirmation numbers, though you illustrated great reasons why I should

    • bogofdebt says:

      It did save my butt a few times 😉 Now, most of the online bills just email me the confirmation number and that works alot better for me. I hated writing them down or doing the print screen and trying to remember what I named it.

  3. I’m glad you spent that extra time with your mother. Now you don’t have to worry about wishing you had done more. I’m sorry for your loss. =(

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was some great quality time. And thank you–it’s been a few years so it doesn’t hurt as much as it once did and I try to think of the fond memories more now.

  4. Good work, B! Was your family trying to help you by paying a credit card bill for Christmas?

  5. It is great that you found some good things you were doing too instead of just focusing on the negative! I bet a lot of people would have skipped those Christmas payments…

  6. Right now it’s easy to have family come first but as I get older I can see that might be more difficult.
    Chase

    • bogofdebt says:

      It’s something that is easy to forget at times but hopefully people don’t have to find out too late that family time is precious and should be cherished.

  7. belowhermeans says:

    I’m glad to read a post from the other, more positive angle. Important to give ourselves credit when it’s due.

  8. Maria says:

    Thank you for sharing! your posts are definitely making me review some of the habits I have, especially when it comes to family… again, thank you!

  9. […] Of Debt talks about Smarter Things I Did When I Was Younger. Not all young people make only bad decisions. It’s great to celebrate the good decisions […]


Leave a Reply

