Spending Recap July 16th-22nd

Monday no spend day

Tuesday no spend day

Wednesday $10 grocery store

Thursday no spend day

Friday $25 (p) lunch

Saturday no spend day

Sunday  $25 movies (d)

4 no spend days! How awesome? Granted we didn’t have a lot of money to spend but I”m not letting that affect my mood.  Because the old me would have found something to spend–whether it was from a savings fund or a credit card.  So I’m happy.  Especially as things are going to be tight for the next year or so.  Yay for saving for everything under the sun.  But at least it will all be paid for without getting us deeper into debt, right?

This weekend was pretty great all things considered.  We went out to his parents house and swam on Saturday. I also got to hold my baby niece.  She’s such a sweet little girl!  Plus, I got the news that my brother and nephews should be out this way on Thursday.  I haven’t seen them in forever so I’m hoping that they can stay for a bit.  The only issue is that I’ll probably have to go buy something for dinner–we planned only two people meals as we had no entertainment plans.  But I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

I also went on a movie date with my fiance to see the new Batman movie.  I liked it-I’m glad we went.  We were undecided up until the point of us leaving.  But we both found it worth it.  We went to the matinee and bought a large popcorn.  We snuck in our own drinks but I wasn’t willing to spend $4 on a bottle of water.  Especially when I have it at home for free! (Well mostly free now)  After we went to the movie, we both wanted to watch the previous 4 batman movies (not the last two but the four before that).  No one had the last three (we have the first one) and they weren’t on Netflix instant que but they were at our local video store!  We were able to rent them for free as we had credit from some other rentals.  So it was a nice, geeky day which was good as I wasn’t feeling the greatest.

How was your weekend?

21 Comments on “Spending Recap July 16th-22nd”

  1. IdaBaker says:

    Congratulations on the great week. It’s often difficult to have so many no spend days within one week!!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thank you! Part of how I get them is to not try for them. I find that if I try, I end up spending because I’m thinking about money. If I just let them happen, I’m not actually thinking about money so I usually end up not spending. Works for me!

  2. Michelle says:

    Good job on all the no spend days! I wasn’t as good.

  3. Good job with the no spend days! I was really excited to see Batman but somehow after the shootings my desire just went away for a bit…but I’m sure it will come back. I have enjoyed all the Cristian Bale versions of the movie.

    • bogofdebt says:

      That was the only downside is that the shootings happend so soon to when we went. We did go and have a fun time though. I won’t spoil the movie but let me know what you though of it after you go see it!

  4. I also got to do some swimming and BBQing. It was a bit cooler than it has been lately, so we were able to get outside. This heat and drought is cramping my style!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I hear you! It was nice on Saturday for a little bit at least. Sunday wasn’t too bad either. I can’t wait until the heat wave ends though. My electric bill just keeps climbing (but now that everything is fixed maybe it will lower a little bit?).

  5. kathleen says:

    Hope you’re feeling much better!

  6. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    I cannot wait to see the new Batman!

  7. That’s a lot of no spend days! And the days you did spend it was minimal. Keep on rocking it!

  8. So many no spend days! Crazy! But good on ya.

    This’ll sound weird maybe. But the Batman movie you saw. It’s refreshing to hear some good, happy news from that movie. The media is filled with the story about that crazy wingnut in Colorado seeing that movie in the theater and so it really was nice to read about two people seeing it and it being nice. So thanks for lifting the ol’ spirit a little!

  9. iheartbudgets says:

    Nice work! Very frugal week. I don’t thinlk we’ve had a “no spend day” in a few weeks. Always something to pick up for a meal or something. Here’s to another frugal week! 🙂

  10. Jason @ WSL says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed the movie! I have some free passes and I can’t wait to find a weekend where we can check it out. It looks like the least cool of the 3 but I’m stoked.

    Our weekend was okay; we went to Omaha, NE for a cousin’s wedding. It was a lot of fun and it’s always great to spend time with my wife’s family.

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was really good. I don’t want to give away spoilers so just let me know how you liked it after you see it!

      Going to weddings is always fun. I use them to get ideas for mine 😉

  11. Finance Care says:

    Spending is as important as income. Monitoring our expenditures can lead us a peaceful and trouble free live.


Leave a Reply

