New plan for house….maybe

I’ve pretty much made up my mind that I do not want to live in my house much longer.  I’ll deal with until the end of December if I have to but I pretty much hate it here.  I do not want to have to deal with the stress of planning my wedding and having things go wrong here.   One of my vague maybes won’t work or if it could, I won’t know for a while.  Which is fine but I need to start planning something—whether or not it’s with the vague maybe or if it’s just I need to finish up this lease and move somewhere else, I don’t care.

One of the things I proactively did was search out a coworker who owns rental houses.  He had approached me a week after I signed the lease to the current house, so I asked him if he would have anything available around that same time. He’s not 100% sure as of yet but I at least asked him (knowing he wouldn’t really know but it’s good to ask questions!) and he’ll be keeping me updated.

After that, I started searching through the paper and Craig’s List for the type of houses we are interested in.   I was researching prices so I can have an idea of what is going to come.  Top priorities: pet included and in town.  I’d love to live out of town where it is a little cheaper but with my beater of a car, that’s not the wisest course of action.

I than pulled out my excel file of my budget and started to plan. I know I have roughly 10 paychecks between now and when we want to move.  So I need to be able to come up with a deposit and a month’s rent.  Plus enough money for a rental van and I’ll have to look into if I can just transfer utilities over without having to worry about anything like another deposit.   I might have to pay for a month of AT&T internet but I’m okay with that—it’s about $12.  After that, I might just save to get better cable.

Besides all these points, I know two three (because I can’t count) other things: it’s important for me to save for the wedding, pay off debt and try to keep our bucket funds going (medical, car, etc).  Same goes for the efund though that might need to be touched around that time.   I won’t do it unless it’s a last resort but I really cannot live in this house after our lease is up.  And it will be refilled again-I’m confident in that.  I may have to pull back on some of the extra payments to debt but if it gives me some peace of mind, I can handle that for a little bit.  So I have inputted the maximum amount of rent I want to pay and so far, it looks okay.  Enough to give me some peace of mind and that is priceless.  January can’t come soon enough!

It would mean not buying some of the things we were looking forward to—new furniture (or new to us), a microwave that works and some other things.  It would mean a slower saving for medical stuff and a new to us car.  But I think it’s worth it.

15 Comments on “New plan for house….maybe”

  1. queenlbee says:

    I hate it when other things have to be put on hold because of unexpected expenses, but that’s why they call them priorities! Good luck to you! 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thank you! I’ll probably need it 😉 I’m not letting my landlord know that I am moving at the end of the lease as I think there is a good chance things that are broken would be ignored even more. I just hope I can find a better place around the time that I’m leaving!

  2. I’ll send good thoughts that everything works out OK! I always loved what Oprah said about your home, “it should rise up to greet you.” If it’s not, it just leaves you stressed. Good luck!

  3. A home should be your haven away from stress. If it’s not, it’s time to move on. Good luck! Keep us updated on your goals!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’m sure I will! I’ve been “looking” which is good and bad. It makes me want to move now when I know I can’t but it does give me ideas on prices.-

      • Looking at houses is so fun, I know what you mean…but SFL is right! If you’re not happy and feel at ease and stress-free in your home, where can you? She’s right…it’s time! Good luck coming up with the money. Sounds like things will be a little tight for the next few months and I know alllll about that unfortunately. We can offer each other moral support at least!
        -M

      • bogofdebt says:

        I figure about 6 months of really hard and then 6 more months of excruciatingly hard…okay maybe not quite that bad but for a year, it will be a bit tight. But nothing wrong with that if it gets us a better place! And yes, I’ll send good thoughts your way too!

  4. your life is going to be stressful enough — get thee to a new house that feels like a home!

  5. belowhermeans says:

    One thing I found that was really helpful was doing a keyword search in the apartments and housing section of Craigslist for the actual month you are looking to move – worked like a charm for us.

  6. Look only enough to find out a budget then quit torturing yourself 🙂

  7. […] instead use it for us.  We’ve been cutting back on a lot of things in order to make sure that we pay on our debts, save for several things and one of these areas we’ve cut back a lot is at the grocery store.  We still pay a lot of money […]


Leave a Reply

