Spending Recap 7/9-7/15

Monday no spend day

Tuesday  $4 milk

Wednesday no spend day

Thursday no spend day

Friday $25 Taco Bell/movies (b),  $25 bookstore (p)

Saturday $270 groceries/farmers market (semi budgeted)

Sunday $180 (b) Wal-Mart/Big lots/Amazon, $32 gas (b)

I’m okay with how much I spent on groceries this past week because of a few reasons.  We’ve been going through a lot of bottled water lately–more than I want to for a few reasons.  But as we haven’t bought soda for the house in a few months (I haven’t drank any at all but my fiance still does when we go out to eat), it is one of the few things I drink now.  And the tap water doesn’t taste right.   So we bought a filter for our facet this Saturday and saved a lot of the plastic bottles.  Eventually, I want to put a pitcher in our fridge but we don’t have the room for it.  I get by with the water bottles because I can turn them on their sides.   The water filter will pay for itself in a month.

The other reason we spent so much is my fiance is now trying to eat healthier.  He’s more picky than I am at fruits and veggies, so we are trying a few things out for him.  I actually got him to eat a piece of mushroom yesterday! He apparently doesn’t mind the taste of baby portabella mushrooms–not a huge fan but he’ll it them.  And of course, it seemed like we ran out of everything–charcoal, mouthwash, bug spray and sunblock lotion.

The only other thing of real note that happened was my kitchen ceiling broke finally and fell.  Not all of it but a good chunk of it.  No one was hurt and nothing was broken thankfully.  I spoke to the landlord’s wife on Tuesday when I first noticed the crack in it was getting worse.  They were “too busy” to come out this last week so I’ll be calling on Monday.    My AC is now working over time because most of it goes up into the hole.  I’d turn it off but my house gets too hot if I do that.  I hope it cools down soon.

A lot of the money spent on Sunday (okay not a lot but a third?) was spent on cleaning supplies and a new swiffer mop.  It was to clean up the mess in the kitchen–the dirt from the ceiling almost stained my rug in there and it ruined my old mop. Couldn’t get it cleaned after we used it to get up all of the nasty dirt. We also purchased Insanity and a rug–the rug is going to be our workout mat.  A much better choice than the workout mat as we can keep the rug in our living room.

How’d your weekend go?

28 Comments on “Spending Recap 7/9-7/15”

  1. Oh no! How did the fan get cracked? That must have been an interesting situation. Did it break when it was running?

    • bogofdebt says:

      Oh it wasn’t a fan. It was a section of my ceiling itself. I have no idea how it got cracked–they’ve had the issue 4 times in the past that I can tell. I can tell because there are 4 different patched on various parts of the ceiling in the kitchen and two other rooms. And yes, extremely interesting. It keeps cracking and more keeps coming off as there is nothing supporting the jagged edges of the hole. I’m calling them this morning to see if they can come out to fix it. I highly doubt it though–he’ll “get to it” eventually. And the ceiling light is only a few feet away so I hope they can come out sooner rather than later.

  2. I spent waaay to much at my class reunion this weekend. Booo, fail. We’ll be playing “catch up” with our budget for the next few weeks.

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was probably fun though right? A splurge once in a while isn’t a “bad” thing. Okay it can be-but you and Vonnie have done excellent so far so I’m sure it won’t keep you guys playing catch up for long.

  3. It does seem like eating healthy costs a bit more, but I’m a firm believer that is one thing worth the investment. I’m glad you’re investigating alternative methods to get your water! 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      I realized that I was spending $10 dollars every two weeks to get the bottled stuff. My filter cost me $17–so in a month and a halfish that should pay for itself. And I’m hoping the grocery list goes down after he figures out what healthy snacks he likes. For instance I bought both swiss chard and lettuce as I didn’t know if he liked swiss chard. He does so I only have to buy one or the other next time!

  4. I know exactly what you’re going through with grocery costs. Jeff is on a slow-carb diet, and eating meat and fresh veggies instead of cereal in the morning, sandwiches and chips for lunch, pasta for dinner, etc. Just examples, but all 3 of those examples are cheap and easy…but terrible for his diet! He’s losing weight, so that’s awesome. I will not discourage that in the least. 😉
    -M

    • bogofdebt says:

      Exactly! I was thrilled when he came to me and said “I want healthier snacks–can you help?” I knew it meant a more expensive grocery bill until we get it figured out of what he actually likes and slowly wean him from most of the junk but it’s worth it in the end!

  5. Michelle says:

    Tap water doesn’t taste right either where we live. Must be because of the drought, not sure.

  6. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    Holy cow, a part of your ceiling came down? That’s terrible. I bet that landlord wishes they had just fixed it ! 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      You would think that but like I said–they have 4 other “patches” where it happened in the past in 3 different rooms. Apparently they just fix it enough to get buy but aren’t really thinking about it in the long term.

      • DebtsnTaxes says:

        There has to be a bigger underlying problem with the home if it keeps dropping parts of the ceiling. Your landlord doesn’t sound too bright but it would be smart of him to get it fixed right. Sorry you have to deal with a crappy landlord.

      • bogofdebt says:

        That’s what I thought-apparntly there are actually 8 (not including this one) patches on the celings and some are fairly big. I know he’s trying to keep repair costs down but I’m sure that the 8 (9) patches and all the time and effort are costing more than him getting it fixed. And for him to get it fixed by a proffesional–as I guess, he does the repairs for the most part.

  7. iheartbudgets says:

    Our never-ending patio project called for some more tools, so I bought a few this weekend. One a positive/negative note: the lumber company returned all of our extra wodd we didn’t use for a full refund……but they came a picked up all of the wood…..even the wood I still needed. So I need to re-order it and have it re-delivered.

    I think I need to keep track of my no-spend days. That would be interesting. I think we’re at maybe 1 a week……maybe.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’d see if they would cut you a break as they took away all of your wood. I really can’t wait to see pictures of the finished project! And the spending report has been helping me–I can see where my “leaks” are and if I need to bump up some areas.

  8. kathleen says:

    You just have to keep repeating to yourself that cheap food is ONLY cheap in the short run and if you eat better (more veggies!) then you are doing yourselves a favor for life.

    • bogofdebt says:

      That’s what I’m going with! I know my junk intake is extremely low so now we’re working on his. I figure a weaning process will be better for him especially if he wants to do it and isn’t being “forced” to do it. So we’re trying out different types to see what he’ll eat as I’ll eat most any veggie/fruit there is.

  9. mycanuckbuck says:

    Oh wow. That’s pretty crazy about the ceiling. I understand about the grocery bill. Normally my hubbie takes salads. This week he’s going to do wraps – our grocery bill dropped a lot!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Wraps sound like a great idea–we were thinking about adding them to the grocery list next time (well the ingredients to make them anyways). That or pita pockets.

  10. Bottled water is definitely my vice! I’m a genuine Evian Addict!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I went with cheap great value water but it was still expensive! Especially when we have it and are already paying for it to come out of the faucet 😉 Seriously, I wouldn’t have minded but when we started pushing through almost 3 cases of water every two weeks…

  11. I am thinking about getting a filter and ditching the water bottles. How is the filter working out?

  12. Your ceiling fell?? I’d be so freaked out by that. Glad you got a filter – that totally helps cut the cost of water down. I still buy bottled water for guests or if I need to grab on real quick on my way out the door but a filter is definitely useful.

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was pretty freaky–just hearing the weird popping sound as I’m watching a scary movie was bad enough! And yes, we have about half a case of bottled water left and I figure I’ll use that for guests until I can find room in my fridge for a pitcher.

  13. belowhermeans says:

    I would raise hell with those landlords!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Oh they don’t really like when I call anymore. I can almost here her cringe when I say my name and where I live. It’s a “what now” type of voice. But I’m okay with that–they liked me before there was any problems.


Leave a Reply

