Spending Recap 6/25-7/1

Monday no spend day

Tuesday $70 gifts/clothes (p), $30 (p) Wal-Mart

Wednesday no spend day

Thursday no spend day

Friday $16 Wal-Mart (b), $33  book store(b/p)

Saturday$20 vet (b), $35 farmers market (b), $127 groceries (b), $35 gas (b), $25 dinner (b)

Sunday $80 lawn tools (b)

We had three no spend days and the good news is that it was all budgeted for or came out of personal money!  Something we were proud of was that we made the choice to give up the rest of our date money and took what was left over from the grandma dinner fund to go buy a weedeater, extenstion cord and a few other things to make doing yard work a lot easier.  We didn’t spend money that was budgeted or anything like that.  We had saved enough money to take his grandma out to eat wherever she wanted–turns out that for the three of us it only cost us $25!  And was extremely filling and fairly healthy.  (We went to a local sandwich place)

Gas prices dropped lower which is nice–we filled up more of our tank for a lot less than normal.  Which is good because this week we will be driving a lot more than normal–on Wednesday, we are going out to his parents place to go swimming all day long and then barbequing for his relatives that night.  And on Friday, we are going to housesit for his parents for the weekend.  Oh the horror of having the pool right there for the entire weekend!

This weekend flew by for me.  On Friday we rented some movies and ate Chinese food as our date and got some of the housework done. On Saturday we shopped, cleaned and took his grandma out to eat.  And then on Sunday, I got to go into work for 5 hours or so.  Boo! But it did let me not have to take a vacation day as I didn’t really work on Tuesday and got me a jump start on today! So it was okay I guess.

How was yours?

16 Comments on “Spending Recap 6/25-7/1”

  1. IdaBaker says:

    It’s always great to have a few no spend days per week. That really helps keep the budget under control. It always amazes me just how quickly the grocery bills add up.

    It’s great to see the gas prices continue to go down, especially since I have a road trip planned soon. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      Oh yes–they dropped from the night before so we were actually happy we had waited to fill up. Usually it works the oposite way for us! Have fun on your road trip and I hope that they continue to drop for you!

  2. Michelle says:

    Good job on the no spends! And I love how gas is falling, even though they were only 2.99 for only about 5 minutes.

  3. queenlbee says:

    Yay for you on the No Spend Days, I’m trying to have three or more this week, but with the holiday…we will see 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      The nice part about the holiday is that we’ll be going to the country and we don’t like to drive anymore than normal. That means just using things that we have at home 🙂

  4. Congrats on the three days of no spending! I love that gas prices are dropping. I hope that trend continues!

  5. Modest Money says:

    Gas prices around here have dropped a bit recently too, but it’s still insanely expensive, especially compared to how much cheaper it is in the US. That’s awesome that you will be house-sitting at a house with a pool. I’m sure that will lead to a fun but unproductive weekend.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’m thinking you are right about the unproductive bit. I will be getting in some awesome #pfworkouts so does that count as productive? And I’ll be a little productive–going to be watering the garden/flowers while I’m out there.

    • bogofdebt says:

      After the heat wave here (still going on of course) I’m so looking forward to doing nothing but swimming for an entire weekend. I may not put on real clolthes at all!

  6. I love that gas prices are lower! It is down to $3.01 here and it is sad that I think that is cheap 😦

  7. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    I’m also loving the $3 ish gas prices. It’s like a 25% raise for as much as I spend on gas every month!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

