Some Random Facts about Me

I’m borrowing an idea from Erika, Michelle and Budget and the Beach. Here’s a list of twenty things about me:

1)      I’m not a cat person.  Really—I’ll pet them but I never pictured myself having a pet for a cat.  Now I have my little guy and couldn’t be happier. Here’s my kitty making me feel better:

Laying next to me when I’m sick

2)      I’m fashion impaired.  Really I am-it may come from living with mostly guys and in the summer.  I am getting better but my go to color is black as it goes with everything (if you tell me this isn’t true I might cry).

3)      I am a horribly lazy person.  Which is weird because I actually like to exercise but I’ve been known to wait in my living room for a few hours until my fiancé comes home to ask for a drink or snack.  (Maybe I’m just cutting calories?)

4)      I can’t draw a straight line even if I tape the ruler down to the page.  I am the only unartistic person in my family too.

5)      I really like to run.  I don’t know why but ever since I discovered it in high school, it releases stress and helps me think.

6)      I’m completely accident prone but get hurt rarely—or at least, I’ll get hurt on the stuff people wouldn’t think about.  I’ve fallen down stairs and been fine.  However, the day after doing that, I ended up kicking a few slabs of soda on myself and tore every single muscle in my back. Fun stuff.

7)      I haven’t grown since middle school.  I was going through some clothes recently and realized that I was fitting back into them and was trying to remember what time period they were from.  Yup, middle school.

8)      Speaking of that, I’m a horrible pack rat.  I’m trying to get better at this but I tend to collect things and don’t want to get rid of it.

9)      I’m extremely shy.  I like my hole in the wall just fine thank you.  I’ve had to force myself to be social before—a lot of people will think I’m stuck up but it’s really just crippling shyness.  To get around this, I have taken public speaking courses which have helped a little.

10)   I like TV but I don’t like that I have to pay for channels I don’t want.  That’s why I don’t have cable.  I enjoy a few shows so I usually get them through Netflix or Hulu in order to watch them.

11)   I love little kids but never thought I would have my own family.  I never thought I’d be married actually.  Why? Not sure exactly but I’m glad it’s working out differently for me.

12)   I hate receiving gifts in front of people.  It’s part of that crippling shyness.  I’d much rather get it in a group setting or better yet, when I’m completely alone.  It’s not that I don’t think I won’t like it but it’s because I don’t know what to say.

13)   I can bake and cook elaborately but “easy” meals get me all the time.  If you give me a recipe that is complicated or takes a lot of time, I can usually rock it.  If you tell me to cook bacon, it’ll end up burned most likely.  Why? I tend to want to do things while cooking so that’s why either elaborate steps or long baking times really work out for the best.

14)   I have a semi giant book collection-it is smaller than it used to be but I love to read.  And it’s all random-I’ll read fiction, nonfiction, children books, etc.

15)   I organize both my books and our DVDs but it’s not an order most people recognize. They’re in my genres and I can tell when they are misplaced.  Bugs me fierce.

16)   I dislike change.  A lot.  It took me a while to submit to this current job because I didn’t want to change.

17)   I can’t find my way out a paper bag even with directions.  I’m horrible at getting lost—I have no directional sense and get all nervous about taking new routes.  Even if that route is shorter.

18)   I lack social graces.  It’s hard for me to understand sarcasm and subtleness.   I have no idea why either.   I tend to follow the not say anything unless it’s nice motto because of this.

19)   I love chocolate but I am a bigger fan of fruit as my sweet snack.  I was known to trade my Christmas candy for my brothers’ fruit.

20)   I could eat popcorn every day.  With butter or without or with salt or not.  Burned is still good (within reason) and sometimes when I’m making it on the stove I’ll burn some deliberately.

There are 20 random facts about me!

42 Comments on “Some Random Facts about Me”

  1. Money Beagle says:

    Thanks for sharing. Sounds like you know a lot about yourself and are comfortable with who you are.

  2. Nice to get to know you a bit more. I am horribly allergic to cats so I stay as far away as possible. If that’s not bad enough the mosquitos in Canada love me as well… lol. Cheers! Mr.CBB

    • bogofdebt says:

      I dislike mosquitos–they seem to like my blood a lot! I heard from a friend that planting marigolds help keep them away from your house as they dislike the smell. Seems to be working for me so far!

  3. Michelle says:

    We’re a lot alike! And I know what you mean, I HATE getting gifts and opening them in front of others. I’d rather just get nothing haha.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I was thinking that when I read your post the other day! And yes, I’m much happier watching other people open gifts. If I have to, I get all weird because I open them neatly and think people are STARING at me.

  4. Alice says:

    I dislike cats, but have in the past had them as pets – mainly because we had a snake in the house once. Eek!

    I have pack rat tendencies, too. I watch the TV show Hoarders and that helps me. I want to start throwing things away right then and it prevents me from buying useless things.

    I’m an avid reader and have only lately learned that the library is my friend. I used to buy books all the time.

    I have kids (teenagers now) and teach Sunday school, but otherwise not especially fond of little ones, LOL. I mean, babies are fine, but I can see them from here, thank you, I don’t need to hold it to appreciate it. LOL

    • bogofdebt says:

      I loved ” I can see them from here, thank you, I don’t need to hold it to appreciate ” I almost spit my tea out. 🙂 My cat is a avid hunter-he just squashed a spider yesterday and will catch mice if they get in the house. With no front claws mind you–he’s just that playful with them.

  5. Reading these types of thing is fun. I’d considered doing one of these on my blog.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’d be interested in reading it–like you said, it’s fun. I had a bit of trouble at first because I couldn’t think of twenty things and then they just kept coming!

  6. I can’t stand burnt popcorn. Should I send it to you? :))

  7. seedebtrun says:

    Thanks for sharing.. I always love getting to know my fellow bloggers.

    Hopefully you have a smart phone or GPS to help you with your lack of sense of direction!

    • bogofdebt says:

      My work issued me a smart phone and I’m a huge fan of mapping out my routes–printing them out and writing them down as sometimes that helps me recognize things.

  8. I can’t believe you own clothes from middle school! I guess you are a pack rat. lol! It’s funny about the accident prone thing. I play a sport when I slam into the sand all the time and never get hurt, but I’ll leave the cabinet door open and smash my head into it all the time. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      hahaha-I just smashed my head into the car today! And as another weird thing to this: I was a cheerleader my senior year and did pretty good through the klutziness.

  9. I’m not a cat person myself… I just hate the cat hair everywhere. It’s pretty annoying! I do like playing with kittens though 🙂 Public speaking courses sound awesome, something I really want to look into..but maybe law school will be a bunch of those plus more rolled into 3 years. Exciting, lol.

    I love popcorn and fruit too and running!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Mine really helped me out–I recommend them a lot. I now work a job where I need to call people up out of the blue and this has helped me a lot. And yes, wow on the cat hair. My cat always knows when I’m wearing black and going to work 😉

  10. DebtsnTaxes says:

    I am one of the most un-artistic people in my family also. My header pic on my blog is about as creative as I get. I also used to not be a cat person, but now I don’t mind ours. It can get cold in the winter and he likes to lay on my feet when I’m sleeping, keeps me warm.

  11. I love these get to know you posts. Although you had so many ones where you got down on yourself. I’m sure you don’t give yourself enough credit. On Number 20, I love Popcorn and have somehow passed this on to my kids who also now love it! They call it “Dad’s Famous Popcorn”.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I didn’t see it so much as being down on myself-these all make up me and I appreciate all of them. Especially as I’ve improved on a lot of them (the public speaking stuff). Popcorn is ambrosia to me 🙂 I’ll eat it when its a few days old if it was made the old fashioned way.

  12. Modest Money says:

    I’ve been tempted to do one of these posts too, but then I got thinking about it and just couldn’t find enough random things to share. It was interesting learning more about you though. It’s great how someone shy can be so open on a blog. I get the same way in some social situations. I’m hoping to deal with that anxiety and be a bit more social, but for some of us it’s just the way we naturally are.

    • bogofdebt says:

      This blog has really helped me with some of my shyness–very similar to the public speaking. It’s hard to bare your soul (so to speak) and remain shy.

  13. lkrant says:

    Why so negative? Maybe ask your fiance to tell you some positive things.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I didn’t realize it was coming off as negative lol. Like I said in an above comment, I’m proud of some of these things–like how I’ve overcome how shy I used to be. They make up me.

  14. Popcorn! I love it. I think it’s the fifth food group.

    …and running. Great one there. It’s a wonderful stress reliever, isn’t it? I’m not fast….I just pop on headphones and listen to podcasts and go…..

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’d agree on the fifth food group–it’s the perfect food. Light, airy, you can control how much butter or salt or whatever you want on it and of course, delicious. Running is an amazing stress reliever. It’s my hobby really 🙂

  15. Cassi says:

    1. Kitty! I am, and have always been a cat person. Heck, my cat is in my room right now!
    2. Neutral colors go with anything. That is your grays, browns, tans, and black.
    3. I can be lazy, and I can be super-productive. It is like a switch for me.
    4. I get super excited when I draw a perfect straight line. No one in my family is artistic though. Thankfully….
    5. I like to run… in my pool.
    6. I have been told that I am graceful, so I’m not accident prone.
    7. I am 5’9. While I am 17, every once and a while I will still grow a little.
    8. I throw everything away. Too many things drive me insane.
    9. I am super outgoing.
    10. I love ordering hulu and netflix, but I NEED to see shows live, or within the same day. I hate spoilers, and people/the internet are filled with them. I could never wait for my shows to come on later.
    11. Undecided on kids. Most likely will though.
    12. I hate being sung happy birthday. All you do is sit there, awkwardly!
    13. I’m not fond of cooking.
    14. I love reading.
    15. My stepdad keeps all of our movie (We have a ton) organized and cataloged by in his computer so he can find then. For example, Devil Wear Prada is on tower 3, shelf one.
    16. I like change. It is exciting and you never know what will happen.
    17. In my family you are either really good, or really bad at directions. I know that I am currently facing north, so I guess I am a good one?
    18. Sarcasm is my specialty.
    19. I hated chocolate until 8th grade. Now I can eat it usually.
    20. Now I want popcorn!

    • bogofdebt says:

      So true about the happy birthday song! And I try really hard not to go out to restaurants on my birthday–the waiters who sing to you are the worse. My face gets redder than a lobster 🙂

  16. You’re a really wonderful and unique person and thanks for this cool opportunity to know you. You have a great talent in expressing the best of what is in your thoughts sincerely. I love chocolates better than fruit.

  17. vanessasmoney says:

    I loooove popcorn! And I hate receiving gifts as I’m sure you’ll remember 😉

  18. Richie says:

    I can’t draw a straight line even if I tape the ruler down to the page. Sounds just like me. I wish I was one of those who could draw a line without the need for a ruler.

    When it comes to one of your likes (to run), that’s where we are different. A brisk walk just about does it for me.

  19. […] Some Random Facts About Me- I love learning about other bloggers and here you will learn more about  Bog of Debt […]

  20. […] Some random facts about me. By Bog of debt. I’ve just started reading her blog after seeing her comment on several other blogs. I think we have a lot in common, after reading this list. Tough call on who owns a cuter cat though. […]

  21. […] Bog of Debt also opens up ~ Some Random Facts About Me […]

  22. We just reorganized our DVDs by our own definition of genre too. I thought we’d disagree on how to organize them, but somehow our idea of what went together was almost exactly the same. It was a lot of fun, actually!

    And I love popcorn, I could definitely eat it every day!

    • bogofdebt says:

      It’s one of my favorite food groups! When I organized them, he agrees that it flows really well but will than fake not knowing where the movie goes when he has to put it back. I know he’s just messing with me though 🙂

  23. […] Some Random Facts about Me on Bog Of Debt […]

  24. iwtkangaroo says:

    I love this post! I’m going to do one like it… inspired by you of course :).Just had to comment b/c I’m glad I’m not the only one who pops popcorn old-school style on the stove! Butter, sea salt, cayenne…yum! Glad I found your blog… good read. 🙂


Leave a Reply

