Budgets are awesome and fun!

So last night after getting tired of working on work at home (trying to play catch up after I kind of deleted some things I shouldn’t have.  Oh and there was no “undo” available) I decided to play around with my budget.  Specifically I have done my budgets up until next July. (Notice I said budgets plural)  Why? For the following reasons:

First reason: wedding planning!  Okay, this was the more fun reason.  I’ve got a post that will be coming here shortly on my wedding budget but in order to figure out what I could save for my wedding, I’ve had to also figure out my pay schedule and budget.  I know they are estimates but I tend to estimate high.  I figure excess is good while being under is bad.  (Oh grocery fiasco, I’ll never live you down!) So I’ve figured out what we can roughly afford to put aside and have based a wedding budget of off that.  (Not going to lie, right now my wedding cost exceeds what I can put aside but some of those things in my budget aren’t for sure and I’ve just put them down as a “maybe”.)

Second Reason: Debt planning! Minus the excitement of the wedding planning.   And it’s more like “debt repayment planning but whatever.   Not much more to say on this subject-I don’t have a time line or anything.  Instead, I’m just fantasizing paying off one or more debts by the time the wedding comes along.  I think it’s doable but we’ll see!

Third Reason: new rental house planning! Our current house, as I’ve mentioned, is a bit small.  It doesn’t seem like it when I describe it: living room, kitchen, backroom/washer and dryer area, bathroom, small office/bedroom, and a “master” bedroom.  But we’ve agreed that for us, a slightly bigger house would be ideal.  The trick is finding one that is in our price range.  The living room is roughly the same size as our bedroom and there is just very little storage space.  Not to mention that the closets? Well, they aren’t really awesome. They were kind of added as an afterthought.  And is it weird that we are trying to plan out when/if we have a baby?  Right now our “second” bedroom is where you have to go through to get to the bathroom.  And it’s packed full of computer goodness and bookshelves.  You’d think it’s my office but as we have no desk, I just typically use my bedside stand as bill holder and so on.

Fourth Reason: Christmas planning!  Both for this year and the start of next year.   We started saving up in May this year a very minute amount from our paychecks and I have a budget (of course!) that shows what we want to spend on people, and the doodads that we would like to buy; as in wrapping paper, postage, etc.  Also—this is our first Christmas where we are in our own little place.  The previous two were spent in a roommate situation.

So there you have it.  I have my budget planned until next July.  I know it might change (what with any potential raises or new expenses or even some expenses disappearing) but at least I have a hint of what is to come. Insane? Maybe. Probably.  Most likely yes.  What do you think?

20 Comments on “Budgets are awesome and fun!”

  1. Daisy says:

    I feel like a bad type A! LOL. I have not really planned recently, though I do think about it a lot. Maybe this weekend I’ll sit down and plan it out.

    • bogofdebt says:

      It took me a while to actually go ahead and plan it out. And mainly it was because I’d had it on my to-do list for a month and of course, me not wanting to work.

  2. I love it! I’m currently taking a break with my budgeting madness b/c I’m totally stressing myself out, but I’m usually one for developing long-term budget plans. I will set up a year’s worth of budget sheets in my Excel workbook, then I tweak each budget when it’s time for that month. Having the big picture in front of you is very helpful for keeping on task with goals, etc. Nice work!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I love getting to tweak them right before as well. It really helps solidify in my mind why I’m budgeting and cutting back on expenses when I can see the future progress.

  3. DebtsnTaxes says:

    I am going to revise my budget pretty soon here, probably in July after our first refinanced mortgage payment is paid. It will be easier to see where money needs to go and if it is actually going there.

  4. I love this! Budgets for EVERYTHING! I have savings buckets set up for Christmas, Bdays, Car Maintenance, Vacations, and infrequent bills (such as trash). I am daily tweaking my budget because i can always spend smarter and find ways to lower my expenses. Nice work on the planning!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Told you that I thought of you when I wrote this post 🙂 Our trash bill is infrequent too. And yes, when I get bored of looking at work spreadsheets I tend to open my personal spreadsheets. I’ve had more than one person laugh when I tell them I’m taking a break from looking at numbers on spreadsheet and then proceed to open my budget. They don’t understand that it’s completely different.

  5. Modest Money says:

    Well I feel guilty for being one of the few personal finance bloggers who doesn’t properly budget yet. I’m just not sure if it is procrastination or if I’m scared of having to try to make further sacrifices. Maybe it’s just a combination of the two and just being too lazy to deal with the spreadsheets. I’m sure I could save a lot more money if I properly held myself accountable like that.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Start small. That’s what worked for us. We used to spend crazily and we just started to tone it back a little. The first budget attempt was disastorous though. And I don’t think you are the only on! Frugal Portland doesn’t budget either 😀

  6. Hey you just called me out! I have a lot of rules and goals and stuff, but nope, no budget. Budgets make me feel guilty when I go over, and make me want to spend money when I’m under.

  7. Congrats! Now the real goal is to stick to your budgets! Hopefully you can do so even though you planned so far in advance!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I think so–the goals are pretty awesome and something that I really want so that helps. I’m not denying myself personal money because that would make the budget fail pretty quickly–I’m like a two year old. Don’t tell me no because I’ll just go do it. (okay not really but you know what I mean)

  8. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    Impressive! Nice work on these. I like to have my budget planned out for the whole year as well – starting in January.

  9. Oooo I love budgets. When I was an accountant, that was my favourite part of my job (yep, total Type A finance geek).

    Your plan seems pretty solid – good luck!

    • bogofdebt says:

      I used to play as an accountant when I was younger. Then I went to school and found out that I really don’t like math. There went that dream 😦

  10. Alice says:

    Just now catching up on reading posts! Sorry for the late comment, but I don’t think you’re insane at all for budgeting out that far. Obviously, I’m a fan, LOL, since I have my income and expenses on a spreadsheet estimated out until the year 2020.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I love comments even if they are “late” and I know what you mean–I had a ton of catching up to do when I was gone. Until 2020? That is awesome! And now I want to do that…such a ‘bad’ influence Alice 😉


Leave a Reply

