Old goals out and new goals in!

May’s Goals:

Medical: finish up my dentist appointments! – I’m going to say I fail even if it is the dentist’s fault.  I have one double appointment left in June for my last fillings and a cleaning.

Car fund: I’d like to put $90 into this. I have $75 scheduled to go for it so let’s see if I can manage an extra $15.—neither pass nor fail as I had this at $210 but then put the left over car money towards medical as I thought I was going to need it for a dental appointment.

Personal: I am entering my first ever 5k since high school and I really want to do well. Right now I know I can do it so now it’s just working on my time. – Pass. I entered and will be running it this Sunday but I’ve been working on my time!  Send fast thoughts to me around noon central time 🙂

Guy’s Student Loans: I would love to get this to $225. That means I need to save $75 for it. – Pass.  Looking at my side bar you will see it’s up to $250!

Efund: I’d love to get this to $200. That’s $60. Can I do it? No idea but we’ll see!–Fail! It’s at $190 which isn’t too bad I guess.  Soooo close!

June’s Goals

Medical-ONE more appointment.  Then onto my guy’s teeth (that sound you heard was me hitting my desk with my head).  And of course, he needs glasses and contacts.   So: $100 into this fund and maybe a dentist appointment for the guy for him to get a price range.

Guy’s Student Loans: I want to put $150 into this.

Car Fund: $100—it’s at zero right now and I don’t like that.  We are a) saving for a new to us car and b) what if another repair comes up?

Efund: $250.  That’s what I would settle for.  Of course, if I can get it over that, it would be even better.

So there you have it.  Are they ambitious? I think so.  Honestly, I’m going to be extremely happy when we get all the doctors, dentists and eye doctors over with.  (Oh did I mention that I also need to get my eyes checked out? Just not as badly as my guy does) Why? Because that money will be helpful to pay off more debt, get our efund up, and to increase other random funds (car, wedding, Christmas, etc).

Before I get overly excited about that, I have a question.  I’ve been kicking around getting and keeping the medical fund to about $250-$500 after all is said and done.  Or should I get my efund up first and then go back to building the medical fund?  They both have valid pros and cons so I’m having trouble deciding and it’s too far into the future for my guy to want to think about it.  Let me know your thoughts below!

How did your May goals go? Are you working on June’s?

17 Comments on “Old goals out and new goals in!”

  1. Michelle says:

    I really need to go to the dentist! I’m so lazy though. Good luck in June!

  2. Good luck with your 5k run. I just started Insanity again! My goal is to complete it!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thanks! We’re putting aside money in order to buy insanity–I want to do it and it’s hard following people on youtube 🙂 Plus, my fiance would like to do it this year and next. I told him we could slowly put the money together for it–I want to make sure that we both want it before buying it!

  3. Gah. I need to go to the dentist, optometrist and pay the rest of my medical bill for my cyst. Sheesh. They also recommended the dermatologist but I’m not going to go =X

    Good luck with the 5k!

    Also I would say…what is more important to you right now re the medical and e-fund? Have you been needing to use the e-fund? It seems like the medical one is more important to you as of late haha, possibly best to focus on that one first?

    • bogofdebt says:

      I haven’t been needing the efund and I know that I’m still going to be funding both for a while. I’m just not sure when all of this is done, if I’m going to fund the efund first and than do the medical fund. I hope everything turns out well with the cyst!

  4. Modest Money says:

    Sorry to hear about all of those medical bills eating away at your income. I also need to go to the dentist, but have been putting it off for a while now. Now that it looks like my finances are headed in the right direction, I’ll have to stop making excuses.

    And good luck on your race this weekend!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thank you! And that’s kind of why I decided to do all this now–I’m in a position to do so and I needed stuff done so I figured I would just work it into my budget.

  5. david says:

    I think it is not too bad if you didn’t completely reach the goals. You were able to get close and that means you made progress.

    If you had not set the goal, there would have been no chance of that happening.

    I have come to feel that is what goals are really for, to get you moving in a direction. Whether you actually obtain them or not may not be so important.

  6. kathleen says:

    Sounds to me like you did a PRETTY good job! Are these personal or shared goals?

    • bogofdebt says:

      I share them montly with you guys 🙂 Mostly so it motivates me more. I’m one of those people that if I come up with a goal but don’t really vocalize it, I view it as nonimportant so don’t work to hard for it. But if I say “I’m going to DO THIS!” and let people know about it? I find I’m extremely motivated.

  7. I pay for dental insurance yet never make it to the dentist. I need to fix that. Good luck on your goals next month!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thank you! The nice thing about my health insurance is that it includes dental. I don’t pay an exorbitant amount either which is always nice!

  8. Jessica says:

    I always hate paying for medical bills. I just recently spent over $100 on contact lenses and will soon have to get contacts for my husband. I don’t think it matters which fund you fund first. I would probably fund the EF first, just becuase it can cover a wider range of things than a medical fund.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thats what I keep coming back to. And yeah, medical stuff sucks. I’m happy that the dentist I went to was nice enough to give me an estimate of what I would have to pay per session after insurance. It helped to save up to it before going and getting it done.

  9. belowhermeans says:

    This might sound ignorant but it never occurred to me to have a specific medical fund even though I’m still anticipating some old psychiatry bills. Genius, going to do this separately from my emergency fund! In other news, LOOK AT YOUR ALEXA RANKING! I am jealous. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      It was born out of the fact that I didn’t want to pay out of my own money if that helps. That’s what I was doing for a while and as soon as I had a bit of leeway in the budget I threw in that medical fund. It’s helped quite a bit. And your alexa number is dropping too!


Leave a Reply

