Shopping Tips

As I was shopping this weekend (and seriously I say shopping in the loosest of terms as I bought nothing except for lunch for my gal pal and myself….oh and a notebook), a few things stood out.  First, go with your instincts—I knew that the dress I had tried on was going to be IT.  But besides that, go with your instincts about shops themselves.

Why? Oh boy.  I went into a florist to see a book so I could get some ideas for flowers for my wedding.  (Speaking of which, I don’t want to spend a fortune so we will be buying bulk and creating the arrangements and bouquets) The place was small and didn’t flow well.  Unfortunately, I was not wowed by the service which could have saved it.  I asked to see a book, was left waiting for about 5 minutes, and when she came back, it was to tell me that I needed to create an appointment.  Really?  I have to make an appointment to see a book?  Then I was informed that they don’t have a book of any of the stuff they have done for weddings or any other big events.  So…I was creating an appointment for what?  No thank you.  Instead we went to a supermarket and they had a book!  I now have ideas.  And that florist will not be getting my business.

Secondly, don’t settle for something you know you are not going to be happy with.  Every time I have, it either doesn’t get used; breaks or I give it away.  Even worse? I buy it, am not happy with it but am not able to return it because I lost the receipt or whatever.  (That just happened with a DVD player that we bought a few weeks ago.)  Instead, don’t buy it!  They don’t have what you want?  But have something that kind of matches but it is NOT what you were looking for?  Chances are if you leave the store, go look on line or wait just a bit, you will find something you will be happy with.  That DVD player is now a $20 paperweight.  It works but not as good as the one we thought was broken.   Don’t buy a XXX amount paperweight.  And if you do buy it? Pay attention to return policies, keep all packaging and the receipt.  Don’t be afraid to get your money back!

12 Comments on “Shopping Tips”

  1. Daisy says:

    I’m actually kind of bad for this. If I have buyers remorse (for something small like an article of clothing) I just wallow in it and don’t return it. It’s a terrible and expensive habit.

    • bogofdebt says:

      It is–every time I move and I look at stuff that I’ve bought but not returned or used, I tell myself I’m going to get better as I box it all up to donate/give away/sell/trash. So far that DVD player is it for me. I even returned a fan we bought that was broken this last weekend.

  2. Modest Money says:

    Haha, an appointment to look at a book? Sounds like they were being greedy/aggressive in trying to ensure you bought the actual flowers from them.

    It definitely is a good idea to avoid purchases where you are settling for something that you may not want. I used to do stuff like that all the time. Seeing all the stuff that you end up throwing away or donating does help a lot with changing your mindset though.

    • bogofdebt says:

      And it was a nonexistent book at that! I also think they were just trying to get me to buy my flowers from them but I have learned my lesson and will not be.

  3. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    Good advice. Like that DVD player, I never buy anything until I’m totally sold on it. There’s so much competition out there that I never feel the need to settle on anything.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I wish I would have thougt about that before I bought it! Or you know, checked to make sure that it was the DVD player that was broken (it was the DVD itself).

  4. Michelle says:

    I’m actually really good with returning things. I tend to feel overly guilty when I am shopping though and I hate that.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’ve found I feel more guilty whenever I buy something I wasn’t sold on to begin with. If I buy something but I’ve done the research or its really what I want, than I’m good to go (normally).

  5. I learned this stuff the hard way! I used to shop impulsively…actually I still do sometimes, but I only buy things online if there is a return policy. No final sale items for me!

    • bogofdebt says:

      See I’ve never actually returned anything that I bought online. I should have a few times though. It just seemed like so much hassel so I try to stick with just buying things online that I know I will want or use.

      • OOh yes definitely read the online return policies before buying anything! Some sites even allow free return shipping and you just print out a return label – and drop it off at USPS or UPS, depending on the service u use. I really like it! I don’t like it when they charge you to return something though.. I’d rather just go to the store and return it there. They usually give a packing slip or a receipt and you can just bring em all to the store. I like it that way better than mailing things back because you get your money refunded right away!

  6. Definitely true. I will always wait for the item I want as long as I can still get it (for example, it is still being made).


Leave a Reply

