Work Conversation

This is between: me (b), co-worker one (c), and co-worker 2 (d).  Yes I notice there is no a but I really wanted to be at the beginning but I thought how awesome it would be to say I’m “B” which is the first letter of this blog!

C: “I was actually skimming through my credit card info the other day and noticed that I was charged $120 for this program that I’m doing (the VI shakes) and then I noticed at the beginning of the month that I was charged $30 by them for a website usage fee.  Apparently because I signed up for their program I am getting charged $30 for the use of their website. That’s $150 that was charged without me knowing about it.”  **side note: I am not signed up for the VI shakes so have no knowledge of how their program works or charges.  This is just a conversation.  If information here is wrong, it’s not really my fault/problem**

B: “well, it’s a good thing you check your statements regularly.  Did it say anything when you signed up for the program about website usage or recurring charges?”

C: “Oh I never actually check my statements.  I have no idea if it said anything about recurring charges or not because I just assumed it wouldn’t.  I thought I would have to order stuff in when I needed it.  But normally I just pay the credit card without checking the statement.  I usually know what’s on there.”

D: “Yeah, same here.  Why should I have to check the statement when I know what’s going to be on there? I know I shop—I don’t need to be reminded of it.”

It was here that I checked out of the conversation in disbelief! Not that I haven’t done things like that in the past, but D is older than me and higher up in the company than I am.  I didn’t really want to say what immediately came into my mind of “obviously you guys should be checking your statements! If this happened this one time, how many other times could you have been charged for something that you shouldn’t have been?”  So I didn’t say anything.

Like I said, I’ve done things like that in the past.  I’m not judging them but I am saying that they should be checking their statements.  I balance the checkbook but I still look at the bank statement (both online and paper form as the bank hasn’t figured out that clicking on the “go paperless” means to stop sending a statement) to double check the money.  And it isn’t even my checkbook! It’s my fiancés but I like balancing it so I took over doing it.

Have you ever had this happen to you at work? How do you deal with it?

16 Comments on “Work Conversation”

  1. addvodka says:

    I work in Human Resources and people are always telling me that if they have to pay back something they owe to the company, it would be horrible because they wouldn’t be able to pay bills – these are only like $200 pay-backs, so I am always in shock and disbelief that they don’t have any money put aside.

  2. Alice says:

    You know, I think that what this shows is that there are just so many people who are totally oblivious to the proper way to handle money and/or credit. So many of us think we’re the only one who could ever have been stupid enough to make certain mistakes. When in reality, it appears that it’s more the norm than handling things the right way.

  3. I’m really glad I check Mint frequently (um.. way more frequently than necessary) because just yesterday I saw our credit card number had been used to make fraudulent charges! You have to be on top of that sort of thing.

    Your story reminded me… Just the other day one of my friends was talking about getting his credit card statement at the end of the month and being surprised by the balance and having to recall all these random purchases (like, every month this happens). It was so surprising to me that he didn’t check that stuff online as the month unfolded! I would have been SHOCKED to speak with someone who doesn’t even check at the end of the billing cycle!!!!

  4. Modest Money says:

    I don’t think I would’ve been able to keep my mouth shut. People are pretty careless about this kind of thing, but they either need someone to tell them to be more careful or they need to learn through personal experiences like those extra charges. Even then, they’ll likely just go back to being lazy about checking it. People assume that big companies won’t make mistakes.

  5. kathleen says:

    UGH sometimes you don’t want to look, so you don’t. I paid $89/month for some sort of job-loss protection something or other… for years. It makes me sick to think about. Off to check my statements.

  6. Michelle says:

    Wow that’s crazy! i check my account everyday (this is probably overkill but oh well).

    • Alice says:

      I check my bank account every day, too! Like it’s my job. Oh wait, it IS my job to make sure that my money is where it is supposed to be. 🙂

  7. I was guilty of not reading through them before but not anymore! I’ll scrutinize each line item to make sure I know what the charge is and if I need to keep it around. Some months are more painful than others but it’s something that I still love doing.

  8. It is good that you check your statements. I’d try to explain briefly why you do it and if they don’t want your advice oh well for them.

  9. That’s crazy? Who doesn’t check their statements? It’s interesting to find out how other people deal with their finances. Maybe I’m just a bit anal but I check my mint.com account at least every second day.

  10. DebtsnTaxes says:

    I don’t check our CC statements daily, only monthly. Our bank accounts are checked probably 3 or 4 times a week. I’ve been charged a couple times for stuff that I didn’t purchase on my debit card, luckily it was a very small amount and the card was cancelled quickly. Could of been way worse.

    I don’t know if I could of kept my mouth shut and walked away without at least giving some sort of “really?” look. A lot of my co-workers are like this but I have been able to break through to a couple of them with the whole “pay down your debts” ideas.

  11. […] Work Conversation @ Bog Of Debt jQuery(document).ready(function(){ jQuery.post("http://thisaggiesaves.com/wp-content/plugins/track-that-stat/registerPageSession.php",{ current_post_id: "219" }); jQuery.post("http://thisaggiesaves.com/wp-content/plugins/track-that-stat/update.php",{ ajax: "ajax" }); setInterval("updateOnlineStatus()", 50000); // Update every 50 seconds }); function updateOnlineStatus() { jQuery.post("http://thisaggiesaves.com/wp-content/plugins/track-that-stat/update.php",{ ajax: "ajax" }); } Posted in Other blogs permalink […]

  12. […] Of Debt talks about a conversation at work that is probably far too […]

  13. Ha! I’ve given up on helping in situations like this. They know what they need to be but choose to focus their cares elsewhere. So I will do the same!

  14. Wow! That’s a crazy conversation with a pretty bad way of thinking. This is one of the reasons it’s easy for people to become victims of credit card fraud and identity theft – because they never realize it’s happening.

  15. belowhermeans says:

    We’re both B. initials! 🙂 My blog and first letter of my first name.


Leave a Reply

