Minimilism is not for me

Honestly, I once considered being a minimalist.  Much like I once considered being a vegetarian.  Both lasted about a day.  Okay maybe less.   I know that vegetarianism is better for the animals but I can’t help it if they taste good! (Please don’t hate me for that)  Now as for minimalism, I just can’t do it.  At least not as of yet.

Why? Well, I know I could do it if needed—I’ve done it before.  I lived out of what amounted to a suitcase and a half.  Everything else was in storage and it was in storage for over two years.    But I’m a pack rat by nature and I have certain things that I love to have on hand.  (Read: books and movies)  I’m nowhere near the hoarder stage so I don’t consider it to be a problem.

But even though I know that I could get by without these things, I’m happy with them.  I have limited myself from buying every single book that looks good.  Instead it must pass my test: am I going to read it once? If so, I’ll get it from a library.  Is it something that I will read over and over again? Will I want to read it in the middle of the night? I’m more likely to buy it at those points.  (I suffer from insomnia from time to time so that’s the reason I have that in the middle of the night question)  I typically don’t buy hard covers but will make rare exceptions.  This means I currently have what amounts to 2 6’ book shelves in my house and they are full or just about full.  I’m going to need a third book shelf soon.

I also have a ton of movies.  Okay, not a ton—but it seems that way to me.  With Netflix being so readily available, I have the same test for movies that I do for books.  And movies being more expensive than books, I can honestly say I haven’t bought one in a few months.

I love my stuff.  I know I don’t need it but it makes me happy and I’m no longer going in debt to obtain these items so I don’t see a problem with having them.  But I do make adjustments where needed.  I have those tests and I now won’t buy a book unless it’s on my list until I get through that stack of unread books I own.  Most of which will probably be donated.

I am also working on the pack rat thing.  Honestly, I found receipts from about 3 years ago in a folder I had.  Did I need them? Not at all.  I don’t even know why I kept them.  Maybe it was so I could look on them in shame when I read the total.  (And if I knew what I would do in the future, why did I buy that stuff anyways???)

But I’m finding that I’m okay with having stuff (and eating meat).  It doesn’t bother me because I’m not going into debt to get it.  In fact, I tend to appreciate the stuff I do have because I save up for it and it takes me a while to get it.  (Seriously it took me 4 months to get a toaster because I didn’t want to part with the money just for a toaster.  Then I realized that I love toast and bagels!  Just as I was about to buy one, I happened to win an Amazon gift card from Crystal at Budgeting in the Fun Stuff—talk about luck!)

25 Comments on “Minimilism is not for me”

  1. addvodka says:

    I’m so not a mininalist. It’s just not for me. I like clothes, and I don’t like to be pigeonholed into wearing the same thing or similar things all the time – I love being able to wear a different outfit day after day! Plus, it saves money on laundry..right? 😉

    • bogofdebt says:

      It totally does! That’s my story anyways. I don’t like looking at my closet and going “hmm, I just wore a blue shirt yesterday (or whatever) and I have….hmm, a blue shirt that looks slightly different”. Instead, I like to get to wear dress pants, or a skirt or a dress without feeling like I JUST wore this.

  2. Michelle says:

    I couldn’t be a minimalist either. I like all of my stuff. I’m a HUGE pack rat too!

  3. I’m with you on both fronts (meat… I love beef. 🙂 ) I have pared down the amount of junky clutter I have, but I love books, and often re-read them, so I have a large collection. I have a large home I love. I’m just not a minimalist at heart!

    And if you’re not adding debt to buy things, and they make you happy – it’s all good. 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thats what I figure. And yay for beef! I really did try and than I think someone offered me a BLT. I ate most of it before remembering that I was supposed to be becoming a vegetarian!

  4. I’m the opposite — I could pack my whole apartment into ten or twelve boxes.

  5. Modest Money says:

    I don’t consider myself a minimalist either, but since I don’t like shopping, it definitely limits the clutter I build up. And yeah doesn’t meat taste awesome? lol…sorry vegetarians! A few times I’ve considered at least mixing some vegetarian meals into my weekly diet, but it would just feel like something is missing from those meals. As for the library, I wish I could take advantage of that. It just takes me so damn long to get through a book. So I just end up buying any books I want to read.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Sometimes I do vegetarian meals for lunch but I’m usually a lot more hungry later. Even when I do just plain salads I’ll tend to throw ham or chicken in it or bacon. But bacon makes everything taste great!

      The library works for me for some of my books–but I read fast. My fiance would rather buy them when he is reading them because he doesn’t like to be rushed.

  6. Meat tastes to good and collecting can be fun – I’m with you. It’s all about doing what makes us happy at that point in our life. I would need a complete life reboot to become a minimalist, something like a house fire or a move to a third world country.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Yeah–when I was moving around a lot, it was easier to be a minimilist. But now that I’m in one spot, I really love having my stuff. And right now, I tend to get really proud of what I do have because I worked hard to save up for it!

  7. Yes I think there is something of minimalism guilt floating around. As long as you’re not going into debt accumulating (or even not going into debt) “stuff” you don’t need, then I agree it’s fine! I like my TV. I watch it. It’s cheap entertainment and I’m not giving it up! :0

    • bogofdebt says:

      That’s my feelings! And I’m sure that if I told my fiance no tv, no xbox or stuff like that, he might cry! Okay probably not but I don’t think he would be a happy camper.

  8. Congrats on winning! Now more books for you 🙂 Have you been using Swagbucks? You can win points so you can redeem Amazon gift cards in $5 increments. It takes me about a month of searching to get one…could take 2 weeks if you always remember to use it. Let me know if you want to sign up – u can use my referral! It’s on my blog front page to the right if you would like to give me some credits!

    Anyways I’m sort of a minimalist but I like my stuff too. My poison is mostly related to clothes and shoes. I have a soft spot for lululemon and cute boots!

    I’m also trying to cut down on eating meat but I’m like you and could eat a lot of it. I eat a lot of chicken and steak 😦 Not pork though! Except bacon.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Because bacon is the yummiest! 🙂 So, when I hit a windfall, do you want to come help me shop? I need fashion advice 😀 😀

      I wish I would have known about you having swagbucks before but I signed up a bit ago and have been slowly amassing my swagbucks. It’s pretty easy and awesome at the same time! Except for how long it takes to get me my gift cards! (Okay it was really only bad because I really wanted a book…)

      • hahaha it does take awhile to get the gift cards but they are so worth it! I would love to help you shop!!!! My friends ask me all the time to help them find something online. Family too. I guess I was that huge of a shopaholic huh haha!

  9. Definitely couldn’t do it either. There are some things where I see the benefits and can be a minimalist in, but definitely not in everything 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      I can see benefits of it but its one of those things where I know it could be good for me (like cabbage) and I’ve tried it (like cabbage) but I can’t do it (like cabbage). I don’t know if you picked up on it, but I don’t like cabbage 😉

  10. I am definitely not a minimalist (the idea of only having 100 things make me cringe a little), but I am trying to declutter in anticipation of my cross-country move in a few months. Just my clothes tally into the 100s, though.

  11. I’m totally not either! Decluttering=good. Depriving yourself for some abstract philosophy=not good for me.

  12. […] I recently shared my thoughts on minimalism, and Bog of Debt shares her thoughts on why minimalism is not for her. […]

  13. […] on Canadian Personal FinanceGrowing up is hard to do, for both mom and kids on My Jam Packed LifeMinimilism is not for me on Bog Of Debt6 Ways to Simplify Your Life (Without Becoming a Minimalist) on When Life Gives You […]

  14. I’m with you! I didn’t even consider minimalism for a second…I just thought about what it would be like for a second and immediately knew it wasn’t for me. I love my stuff, too. I like knowing if I want to go camping, I can gather all of the stuff I need to have a comfortable trip from my garage. I like knowing that if both my brother and sister bring their families for the weekend, I’ll have enough bed linens and towels to make everyone’s stay comfortable. I guess you could say I like comfort. LOL


Leave a Reply

