Entertainment options

Short one today but I plan to make up for it! Promise J  Does anyone have hulu plus?  I don’t want to pay for cable as I really don’t watch a lot of TV but there are some shows that I’ve been missing or wanting to check out.  (Can you say season 2 of Walking Dead? GRR) Now, I do have Netflix-split between DVDs and streaming.

I enjoy it and have worked it out so that I pay about $.08 a movie.  I can’t really beat that price in my mind.   But like I said, Netflix doesn’t have everything I want right away and I have to wait for it to come out.  But I’ve been kicking around dropping down to 1 DVD and streaming for Netflix and picking up a Hulu Plus membership.  I just don’t know if it’s worth it.  I know that you can do a 1 week trial membership but I’d rather not get the membership at all if I’m not going to get it in the end.

I have a $30 entertainment budget which is normally about what Netflix runs me a month—okay I round up a few dollars but I do that for everything.  That’s why I’ve been thinking about the mix of the two.   It could get help mix up the choices I have right now.

Any thoughts?

 

13 Comments on “Entertainment options”

  1. Jessica says:

    I don’t watch DVDs very often so when I do, I usually go to a redbox to get one. They don’t have the best selection but unless I’m looking for a specific movie, I can usually find something that I want to watch. As for TV shows, I stick with watching them on hulu. If I were to start watching shows from the first season I would probably go with Hulu plus. They seem to have the shows that I want to watch

  2. Finance Yoga says:

    There are a lot of options for ditching cable or satellite. I have lived for over 10 years without them and I watch a lot of movies and tv shows from streaming on netflix. I use to have the ‘streaming + disc’ option, but we only watched about two ‘disc’ movies per month… so we cancelled that and now pay only $8 monthly. If I want to watch a movie that isn’t offered, I go to redbox or hulu. Good luck!

    • bogofdebt says:

      See, I get so many discs–I usually rotate through them on a fairly consistent rate. Enough that I pay a lot less per movie through Netflix than if I would go through Redbox. I haven’t had cable or satelite in a year and am fairly content without it. We have other things our money could be spent on!

  3. SWR says:

    It it still possible to get the Netflix discs without streaming? Could you do that and then use Hulu Plus for streaming? If not, you’re not the only person I know who does both Netflix and Hulu Plus. All things considered, $30 is a pretty low entertainment budget!

    • bogofdebt says:

      See I know it’s possible to do discs without streaming but I’m not sure if Hulu Plus will have all of the options for old series. I could just do the trial for Hulu plus though. 🙂

  4. I have netflix instant ($8) and Hulu+ ($8) so it’s a hell of a lot cheaper than cable!!!! I watch everything through both so it’s the best of both worlds.

    I LOVE The Walking Dead!!!! Also check out Sons of Anarchy and Supernatural on Netflix. Hulu+ does have a good selection of tv shows, but honestly…if I were to cancel one I’d choose to cancel Hulu+ because a lot of the shows are not complete and the ones they are sometimes on the tv station’s website directly.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I have been watching Sons of Anarchy but I haven’t wanted to finish it because they are behind by a season or two on Netflix! So I’m delaying watching. Hmm..doing both is sounding so good. Or at least until I’m caught up on past seasons that aren’t avalible through Netflix 😉

  5. We just have Netflix. I guess I don’t know what I might be missing with Hulu+ and I’m fine with that. Don’t forget that TV still comes FREE over the air! We bought an antenna a few years ago for about $15 and it’s served us quite well for sports and network TV that we HAVE to watch as it airs (not very often).

    • bogofdebt says:

      We do have an antenna and it brings in all the sports stuff you can ask for–not so much on other channels but it could just be the time of the year. It also brings in local news which is great as we live in tornado land so that’s really important.

  6. masterp1976 says:

    My buddy swears by ROKU. I don’t know much about it but he got rid of paid T.V. after he got his ROKU

  7. BFS (@bitfs) says:

    Between an antenna and Netflix, I think you are pretty covered, pretty cheap. I haven’t heard anything amazing about Hulu Plus…

    • bogofdebt says:

      We’re trying the trial right now but so far I am ambivalent about actually paying for it. They have the shows that I was missing on TV but it also keeps loosing our signal–something Netflix rarely does. It kind of gets annoying when it does it 10 times in a row.


Leave a Reply

