Spending more is okay sometimes!

On Saturday, I was doing my laundry as I knew I was going to be busy on Sunday which is our normal laundry day.  (Side tangent: I told my fiancé (still exciting to say this!) that I was going to be doing this and he replied “that’s a great idea”.  Fast forward to this morning when he tells me that his pants weren’t washed because I didn’t tell him I was doing the laundry until it was too late.  (Keep in mind that we do share chores but I tend to wash it and he helps fold it.) I laughed at him and repeated back to him what he said. My answer was silence and a sheepish smile)  Moving on from that long little rant, I made a stop in the bathroom and kitchen to pick up items that needed to be washed.

In the bathroom, I grabbed our bathmats and the shower curtains.  In the kitchen, I grabbed the table cloth and place mats.   I love how my shower curtains, table cloth and place mats are all machine washable.  When I was living in the original place with my fiancé, and 2 other guys, the guys didn’t understand why I spent all that money on the fabric ones for the shower rather than just spending the little bit for the plastic curtain.

I tried to explain that while I spent $35 dollars all at once, (even though we were just barely trying to come out of debt and start saving money) that I was actually saving money in the long term.  Where I live, we get really icky water stains and a plastic curtain was only lasting a month or so before you had to get rid of it (even with scrubbing the plastic) because it was just scummy looking/feeling.  They couldn’t understand why when they only spent $5 at the most every two months (well, less because we also took turns rotating who was buying) whereas I spent $35 ALL AT ONCE.  But I bought the curtains, put them up and threw out the yucky ones on my turn.   About 3 or 4 months later, I was moving out and I packed up my curtains after texting the roommates to let them know they would have to get one to replace it.  Sure enough, the next morning, a fabric curtain was up!  Apparently, they liked how easy it was to clean the fabric one.  Every week or so, I just washed the curtains and they were as fresh as ever.  Since I was already doing laundry, I wasn’t even spending any extra to wash them.

I did the same thing for a table cloth.  I looked at the plastic ones and then decided I’d rather go the fabric route.  I am not so worried about ripping it or getting it dirty—I just toss it in the laundry and it’s good to go.

So yeah, I spent money that could have been put into savings or debt repayment on some fabric curtains/table cloth but I don’t regret it.  I think it was a smart decision to make as it saves me more money in the long run! I actually bet that if I was to divide out the cost that it would be mere pennies due to how much I use the items 🙂

17 Comments on “Spending more is okay sometimes!”

  1. Michelle says:

    Quality is better than quantity!

  2. I like that idea. I currently have plastic shower curtain/liner in my bathroom. I should invest in a cloth one. That makes more cents!

  3. I never even thought about a cloth shower curtain! I’d think it would get damp and moldy really fast. But that’s awesome it actually works well! I have doors so I guess I don’t have to worry about that for now but good to know for the future.

    • bogofdebt says:

      When I was living with everyone, I had to wash it about once a week or it could get yucky looking. Now, maybe once a month is when it needs to be washed. I have white ones so I just put a little bleach in the wash with them. No mold yet.

  4. AverageJoe says:

    I’m with Michelle. Buy quality staples and you’ll find your upkeep cost goes through the floor. I heard a story about Michigan roads when we lived there. They said that the state had engineers come in and give them quotes. They could pay a bit more for roads that lasted 20 years (the more economical route over time) or use cheaper materials and have those that lasted only 10. Because they were cheaper in the moment and most of the legislators knew they’d save a buck today, they went the 10 year route. Today, Michigan’s roads are still a mess, and are always being reconstructed.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I know that feeling–one of the counties I was in living in NY did something similar. The roads were horrible and were just being “fixed” when I left. I’d rather pay for something and pay more knowing it would last than having to pay for upkeep.

  5. Rachel says:

    I have glass doors where I live right now, but when I’m looking forward to when I can hang up my beautiful burgundy swirl-patterned shower curtain with beads. It’s so pretty and just sits in a bin. Good analogy about how it pays to spend more sometimes.

  6. Making a quality purchase once is always better than replacing cheap things many times. I’ve spent over $400 on cheap black pumps (and still don’t have a comfortable pair!) because I just couldn’t bring myself to buy the $180 pair that would have lasted. Now, I’m saving for new shoes. And I’ll buy the good ones this time.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I was like that with running shoes so I know exactly what you mean. Feet and what goes on them are important to treat right-or you learn the hard way what can happen 😦 I also did this with winter boots a time or two until I bought really good ones. They cost more up front but saved so much in the long term.

  7. callmewhatyouwantevencheap says:

    I agree with you, I would spend more money on the fabric ones as well.

  8. MyMoneyDesign.com says:

    If you buy cheap, you’ll just end up replacing it. There’s nothing wrong with spending a little more for quality. Heck – it’s an investment!

  9. […] Of Debt tells us why spending more is ok sometimes. I agree with this, as I always think about the life of a product before purchasing, and sometimes […]


Leave a Reply

