Kickboxing at the Y

Yesterday I went to my first ever kickboxing class.  And I loved it. I mean I just absolutely loved it.  Granted I think I will do better when I remember my left from my right but that’s a whole other matter, right? (Seriously, you should have seen me…okay maybe not really.  Because then you would have laughed as I almost got kicked because I went the wrong way. My problem is she says “right”, I look at the mirror and see “left” and proceed to go left)

After I was done my kickboxing class, I went and lifted weights for about 30 minutes.   It was pretty invigorating.   I really think that I got my money’s worth out of the gym this month.  (The class is free since I’m a member)  I did go running outside the other day but I really don’t want to stop the membership.  This is partially because of the class and weights at the gym and partially because sometimes it is way too hot to do anything outside.  Plus it’s only $20 a month for us two and I think that is money well spent.  Granted I really only use it but I still think it’s worth it for me.

I think that I will still work out on my lunches on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  I didn’t yesterday because I had a dentist appointment instead.  (That’s a whole other story but I’m pretty happy that 1/4 of my work is done….and now I’m sad when I think about it like that)

Okay I know this wasn’t really a personal financey post but I wanted to share with you guys how I felt about my new class.  Anyone else do kickboxing? What do you think about it? (and do you have any pointers on the whole left versus right thing?)

4 Comments on “Kickboxing at the Y”

  1. Hahaha so glad you loved it and I LOL’d at your left/right issues. Basically I see these people all of the time during my turbo kick classes and as long as you’re movin’ and groovin’ and burning calories, that’s all that matters! My tip would be follow the people around you and in front of you instead of looking at the teacher. Sometimes the teacher can be going too quickly or switches up their moves on you without telling you. There are a lot of hardcore turbo kick people that know the routine (or will get it rather quickly) and it’s MUCH easier to follow their moves, plus they don’t move anywhere.

    Also I never look at myself in the mirror. It’s like a phobia. I’m not sure why so I like to hide behind people so I can’t see my reflection and how goofy I look while punching, jabbing, and jumping 🙂

    • bogofdebt says:

      I was definitely hiding behind other people–I thought I looked extremely goofy doing all the moves. I had a ton of fun doing it though and am so looking forward to tomorrow’s class! I wished they offered it more times during the week but maybe someday if enough people want to do it they will.

      (also am I compeltely weird for loving the sound everyone’s shoes made when we were all doing kicks at the same time?)

  2. I’m not a big fan of kickboxing classes; for some reason, I just don’t have that much fun in them. That’s awesome that you do though – I think getting and staying in shape is mostly about finding what you love and sticking to it. For me, it’s Zumba. I absolutely love my Zumba class and get so sad if I ever have to miss it.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I really wanted to try Zumba but it’s always offered at weird times during the day. I’m waiting for them to change their schedule around a little bit.

      And I agree with you. If you don’t like doing something, you aren’t going to stick with it no matter how good for you it is.


Leave a Reply

