A letter to myself

Dear me:

I know that sometimes you feel like you aren’t doing nearly enough—or are spreading yourself too thin.  I just wanted to let you know to keep it up!  You are making progress slowly but surely.  You just forget to include everything that you are doing when you think of how you are progressing.

Think about it—you have paid of $375 worth of bank debt and will never make the same mistake again with a bank now will you?  You couldn’t have done that a year or two ago so that is some progress right there.  You are SAVING money and not just spending it on anything that you want.  Instead, you are practicing delayed gratification and isn’t it just an amazing feeling?  Now instead of some credit card company owning your stuff until you get it paid off, you buy it with your actual money and own it right away!

Two years ago, you were making choices of whether you should eat dinner or buy gas to get to work.  Now you are making choices of what to pay off next and what you want to save up for.  How awesome is that?   Eventually you will be making a choice of what you are saving up for and if you want to save up for a house or continue to rent.

It’s okay that life happens and you can’t save or pay off debt nearly as fast as you want to.  Would you like to know why I’m saying that? Because you are still saving and still paying off debt even as you save for a baby coming into the family or your wedding.  You haven’t given up and gone back to your spendy ways!  Very cool.

You also found an amazing guy and an amazing kitty.  And the guy has the same goals as you—which is very helpful.  So keep up the good work.

Love,

You!

Sometimes I really don’t feel like I’ve done very much–but I have to try to remember that I’ve changed my ways and change does take time.  What do you do when you start getting frustrated?

5 Comments on “A letter to myself”

  1. How sweet! You should print this out and put it somewhere that you can glance at often. I tend to do that with inspiring quotes or lyrics, or anything I find motivating. Right now I have a printout of a quote that helps me everyday up on my cubicle wall. It says “Ever Tried. Ever Failed. No Matter. Try Again. Fail Again. Fail Better.” I just love it cuz it’s so uplifting.

    Btw you’ve accomplished a lot, keep on truckin’! And did you go to that kickboxing class yet? Hope you liked it!!!! It is so fun!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thanks! And that is a awesome quote. I remember in high school I always liked a quote “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start” by John Bingham.

      I haven’t been to my first kickboxing class-that starts in roughly two weeks. I’m super excited for it though.

      • So excited for you 🙂 I always get excited too even though I think I memorized the routines and can do it on my own. It’s just so much better when you have a fun instructor yelling at you and other people equally as motivated jumping around like crazy people together.

        I love that quote – I find a lot of variations of that quote on Pinterest. If you start – you are already halfway there.

  2. Katie says:

    Well it definitely sounds like you’re on the right path. What a great idea to write a letter to yourself, now every time you’re feeling down you can read that. I love the quote…“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start”

    And good luck with the Yakezie Challenge.


Leave a Reply

