I joined the Yakezie Challenge!

I did it—I joined the Yakezie Challenge.  I’m worried, I’ll admit it.  I have an alexa ranking of 3,835,763 as of right now and I need it to go under 200,000 in 6 months.  I’m hopeful I can do it but will probably share my ranking monthly.  (I thought about doing it biweekly but we’ll see…)  I figure doing it monthly with my goals should be good.  My thanks to Andrea from SoOverDebt and Curiosity Killed the Blog for telling me more about it.  (Speaking of which—have you checked out either of her sites?  Amazing writer and she has the ability to get He-Man stuck in my head.  Go check them out now—don’t worry they pop up in different windows.  I know you want to finish my post too!)

When I first started blogging, I was worried.  Not much of a change for me as I’m a worrier by nature but I was writing for other people to read my inner thoughts.  And then strangely, I found that I was okay with telling strangers my thoughts on my finances.  Actually (and I’ve read this on other PF blogs as well), I am more at home discussing my thoughts here then I was with telling my closest friends and family.

This blog has been such an inspiration for me to pay down debt and save.  I’m not paying down debt as fast as I would like but life has happened (read: baby shower for my guy’s sister which I’m helping to host, a wedding I’m planning for in 18 months, a new car and a medical fund—all of which I’m happy to save for and excited about.  Okay maybe not the medical fund but three out of four I’m excited about) and I’m working on it as much as I can. And of course, it’s helped hold me accountable—no more eating out every day or spending willy nilly.

So wish me luck on the Challenge!

15 Comments on “I joined the Yakezie Challenge!”

  1. Ahhh! Everyone is joining or has joined the Yakezie challenge. I feel so left out but I know I would be setting myself up for failure if I did it right now. But I can’t wait to see how you do! It’s always fun to watch a blogger grow and write more.

    Also I’m with ya on frozen dinners. I don’t like them at all but I just bought a bunch of lean cuisines since all of my coworkers keep telling me that they are good for lunch, and this way I don’t have to worry about picking something up last minute if I didn’t pack lunch the night before.

    • bogofdebt says:

      Hey you are studying for your LSAT which is highly important! I’m sure that if/when you decide to do it, you’ll kick butt at it.

      For lunches, I’ve been eating these pasta dishes which are near the Hormel Completeeats. They are about $2 a piece and are pretty good. I eat those when I don’t have leftovers or feel like putting together a lunch for myself. Just need 1 minute and 30 seconds to heat.

  2. Jon Rhodes says:

    Good luck with the Yakezie challenge. If you regularly post quality posts on your blog, comment on other Yakezie’s blogs, and be active on the forum then your alex will drop quite rapidly at first. I have just completed my first month of the challenge and have dropped it from around 1.8 million to about 510k. Still a way to go, but I’m heading on the right direction!

  3. Hey there fellow challenger! Congrats on joining the challenge!

  4. Michelle says:

    Yay! Glad you joined. You’ll be under 200K in no time.

  5. Andrea @SoOverDebt says:

    Welcome!!!!! Thanks for the shout outs, but more importantly, I’m so glad you decided to join! Have you posted in the forums yet to announce your challengership? (Oooh, I made a word!)

  6. matt76allen says:

    Welcome to the challenge! I admit, I clicked over to your site after seeing your “bog” logo on one of the comments you left over at Yakezie. I love adventuring around in the woods, so I had to check it out. I’m pretty sure there is a Bigfoot behind the big tree on the right in your bog picture! See it’s shadow?

    You will do well with Yakezie. It took me only 5 months to get under 200k… and my blog evolved and changed a great deal over that time. I’ve learned so much from the friendly folks within Yakezie. If ever you have any blog related question, just ask it within the forums and you will get a multitude of answers. I asked the most basic questions when I started out and people were more than happy to help.

    Good luck!

    • bogofdebt says:

      Thank you! And that “bog” is one of my favorite places to go. It’s free and I see something new everytime I go. I always kick myself when I don’t have a camera with me.

      I’ve been loving the Yakezie community–it’s very helpful.

  7. You can do it! I started out at like 4 million about a 3 weeks ago or so, and I’ve already dropped to 780,000 or something.


Leave a Reply

