Grumbly about wasted money

Last night I had PF Chang’s frozen General Tso Chicken.  I was not impressed.  I was actually a little sick from it which really disappointed me.  I’ve heard so much about it and really was looking forward to it.  I am going to have to try to eat at the restaurant but I will not eat it frozen again.

The vegetables looked like they were wilted and tasted off.  I’ve had frozen Chinese dinners and actually enjoy them for the most part.  This just made my stomach hurt and my wallet groan.  The meal wasn’t cheap and it was taken up valuable freezer space.   Do I regret buying it now? Yes but we purchased it a few grocery trips ago (but it was well within the best by date) and now we know.  I ate maybe a bite and a half out of it, and my guy ate not much more than that.  We ended up going to the supermarket to get a salad and sandwich for our dinner.  Something I didn’t really want to do and I am now kicking myself for doing it.

Sorry I don’t normally like to grumble (okay maybe I do but let’s just pretend otherwise, shall we?) but I was so looking forward to trying it.  Talk about buyer’s remorse!

In other news, I’ve started to save for our kitchen table.  We don’t have one in mind yet so we are just saving up until we find one.  We’re scouring Craigslist, looking for flyers/garage sales and keeping an eye on our nearby secondhand shop.  We don’t need one new—just in semi good condition.  And you know, one that has chairs.  Then maybe we can invite people over for dinner without feeling bad that we’re sitting on the floor.  Which can sometimes be fun but after a few months it gets rather old.

I also went to JC Penny’s to look at some dresses, shoes and bathing suits.  I really need a suit and really want to buy something for the wedding we are attending.  It means I have to save up but I think it will be worth it.   I’m hoping to buy a dress I can wear to the wedding, to work and outside of work.

4 Comments on “Grumbly about wasted money”

  1. You mention a second hand shop. Do you have a Habitat for Humanity ReStore near you? I have one near me and, though you have do as you mentioned and keep an eye out, it was a fantastic resource when I needed to furnish a house. There may be more places like that in your area than you think, too. I didn’t realize it at first, but there are about six of those types of stores in the ‘big city’ (LOL it’s about 50K people) near me.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I wish we had one of those stores in our area. We live in a fairly tiny area (I just wrote store but thankfully caught it 😉 ) and our car can’t quite make it over to the next town over which might have something. But than again, that town was decimated by a tornado last year and is still rebuilding….

  2. I can’t say I’ve ever been impressed with PF Chang’s either. A bit too much hype for me! You’ll score using Craigs List. I sell stuff on there all the time for way less than I paid for it.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I have my hopes for Craigs list–it’s actually where I found my apartment and washer and dryer! Either that or that secondhand shop–I looked at new tables and cringed at prices.


Leave a Reply

