February’s goals revisted and March’s defined

February goals:

Efund: goal: $300 actual: $85 I don’t even know.  I failed big time on this goal.

Vacation Fund goal: $40 actual: zip. Decided to not do this after all, instead started a wedding fund (which is at $195 so technically I passed if I think of it like that)

New Car Fund goal: $250 actual: $180.  Honestly I don’t know what I was thinking.

Bank Fund goal: $110 actual: $110.  I passed this midway through the month so I did excellent at this one I think.

House Fund goal: $50 actual: spent $30 on a bookshelf.

Medical Fund goal: $100 actual: $130 I’m trying to get the rest of my teeth issues solved and the guy needs glasses so this is pretty high up there.

So yeah I totally sucked it up this last month.  I set the goals extremely high and didn’t make most of them.  But I did make the bank fund goal which was extremely important to me.

March’s goals:

Efund: $150.  Again this is really important to me to get it up to where I feel comfortable with it.

Medical: $200 by end of March if I don’t make a dentist appointment or $50 if I do make one.

Medical Debt fund: $110.  These are old medical debts from when there was no health insurance.

New Car Fund:  $250.  We really need a new car (or at least a better used one)

House Fund: $50.  Again, I’m planning on having $50 into this fund or spending $50 on our house. (microwave or toaster….)

That’s it.  I’m keeping my goals simpler this time.  It sucks to fail over 50% of my goals so I’m going to aim for doing simple, realistic goals.

 

5 Comments on “February’s goals revisted and March’s defined”

  1. Don’t be too hard on yourself! If I’m adding right, you saved around $500 total. That is AMAZING! I don’t think I’ve ever saved that much in one month. But there is definitely something to be said for keeping the goals realistic.

    • bogofdebt says:

      I think it was in a month and a week but yeah when I look at it that way I guess it does look a lot better than what I thought at first. Thanks for helping me notice that.

  2. I agree with Andrea, don’t be too hard on yourself!

    As you saw in my February recap, I was a pretty epic fail this month – but the important thing is to get back on the band wagon, re-assess what went wrong – maybe you were too ambitious? Maybe there were unexpected events beyond your control.

    Here’s to a better March for both of us! 😉

    • bogofdebt says:

      I’m with you on that! I’m trying to try less ambitious goals as some things changed in the middle of the month that will affect us until late June.


Leave a Reply

