Canned fruit vs Fresh

When I went shopping this last week, I didn’t buy fresh fruit.  Instead, I bought canned fruit—fruit cocktails, peaches, mangos, and some pineapple.  I know I’m trying to save money but I find that I much prefer having fresh fruit over the canned stuff.  Yes, it was cheaper, but was it worth it?

Let’s make a list and compare canned fruit and real fruit! (Remember when I said I was overly in love with lists? No? Well, I am so there’s your warning!)

Price.  Okay, for $5 I managed to buy a wide variety of fruit.  I had pineapple, peaches, mangos, and the fruit cocktail.  For $5 (a little less but still) I could buy a bag of apples or oranges or…well, you get the picture.  The other option is to buy individual fresh fruit.  (That is an option I haven’t tried as of yet but I think I will this upcoming shopping day)

Taste. By far, I like the taste of the fresh stuff better.  I did enjoy getting to eat out of season fruit at a fraction of the price.  I can eat the canned stuff but I love the crisp taste of fresh fruit.

Looks.  When a piece of fruit is canned it much loses some of the quality of how it looks.  It becomes soggy looking and squishy.

Storage.  I will admit storing canned fruit is a lot easier.  I don’t have a huge fridge and storage space inside is at a premium.  Nor do I have a lot of counter space.  Unless its bananas though, I have always liked storing my fruit in the fridge.  When its canned, it takes up a small amount of room.   Canned fruit also lasts a lot longer.  Fresh fruit will last about 2 weeks if I’m lucky (also depending on what I buy) but I have a lot longer on canned stuff.

In my eyes, I prefer the fresh stuff–even if it is a bit more pricey.  As I said, I’m going to try to buy the individual pieces to try to get a little bit more of a variety.  How do you buy your fruit? Canned, by the bag or individual? 

One Comment on “Canned fruit vs Fresh”

  1. Michelle says:

    I prefer fresh fruit!


Leave a Reply

