Spending Recap

I need to start a weekly spend cap.  I wasn’t going to do it but after thinking about the lack of control I had this last week, I think I need to.  This weekend was fraught with spending.  Granted, some of it was necessary but not all of it.

Saturday: $14 on medicine for my cat

$22 to fill up our gas tank (we fill up once a week and it wasn’t that empty and this was planned and budgeted for)

Sunday:    $11 on groceries.  Some of these were necessary but others could have waited.  We bought milk which was needed, potatoes that were sort of necessary but we could have changed our meal plans, tomato sauce which we needed like the potatoes, and creamer which we were out of but why didn’t we just use milk and sugar? (Also we did use a $7 Wal-Mart gift card to help bring this down)

$4 at Sonics for some slushies.  This was really unnecessary especially considering we had talked about just waiting until we got home to have a drink.  And then we remembered the gift card for Wal-Mart and decided to use the money we saved from groceries to have slushies.  The reasoning behind it was that we would hit up the Happy Hour and get the drinks half off or buy one get one (I cannot remember what it was supposed to be).  Well we were about 13 minutes to early for Happy Hour but decided to go through with the order anyways.

And earlier in the week, I let myself buy 2 books out of misc. money just because I wanted them.  I’d already spent my personal money (and I really enjoyed spending it where I did) but I wanted them and couldn’t wait.  I did check at the library but that made it worse as they weren’t there and I’d have to wait even longer.  Because I did that, I let my guy have $5 more for beer even though he spent the money already budgeted for.   And we rented movies at the video store (even though we have Netflix).

So there you have it, that was my weekend spending.  At the beginning of the week, I will be trying to remember to give a spending recap until I stop the useless buying.   Again, I thought I was doing pretty well until I started to buy (diet) soda at work again—one a day is more than enough and I buy the soda for my lunches.

I do have to say that I’m proud of myself in one aspect.   I’ve been trying to convince my guy for ages that our cat would like a doggie companion (he hates other cats but does actually like most dogs) and a puppy would be perfect for us.  This way our cat could show it who was boss when it was little and the puppy would be an awesome addition to our house.  He found 3 or 4 that were the most adorable  and showed me the photos.  I had him convinced to get one….and then I brought myself to my senses.  I do want a puppy but I would want our back yard fenced and have enough money to spoil it (I don’t know if I would want a boy or a girl yet).  I would want to adopt one from the shelter so the shots would be included in the price but I didn’t want to just be scraping by.  So I withheld from getting one yet but I will have one soonish.  I might start saving some of my personal money for one.

Anyways, I had a good moment and a few bad moments this weekend.  Do you have to do a spending recap to make sure you don’t just randomly splurge? (And I thought I was being so good until after I read Andrea @ SoOverDebt’s post …that got me started thinking ….)

Leave a Reply

