Thoughts on my budgeting ways

I’ve been thinking about a conversation I had with someone a month or so ago.  I made mention of the fact that I was trying to get out of debt and the budgeting I had been doing.  (I know, I was talking about the taboo subject of money and debt!) For some reason they thought it was odd that while I was trying to get out of debt, I still had date night with my guy and still had some personal money.  They thought that I should just curtail all extras and just focus on paying down my debt.

There are a few reasons why I don’t think that what I do is wrong. First, I’ve tried that route.  It did not go well at all.  I managed to do it for about 3 months and then I broke.  And funny enough, I went broke.  I “borrowed” from my savings and never really planned on paying it back, but I went through the motions of thinking I would.  When that money ran out, I started making more excuses.  I didn’t get more in debt but I found the last week before a paycheck to be very, very hard.  We would be low on groceries and gas and just be scrimping by.  And then I decided that since we were having such a hard time making by that it would be just fine if we stopped saving.  (And it makes me cringe to admit that but I’m being honest)

After a few months passed, I started to think about being debt free again.  I also started to want items.  To explain the wanting of items I guess I would have to explain that for the past year or two or three, I was sleeping on couches or in spare rooms and I didn’t have things (well a year ago from last July).  And I know things are just material but it sure is funny how they make a person feel more at home.  So when I was making my roots here, I knew that I would want “things”.  But I also knew I didn’t want to get into more debt.  So I sat down with my guy and discussed the option of having a reasonable budget.  One that would allow us to have a savings and to pay off debt but would also allow us to have a little wiggle room.  I enjoy having personal money—even if I don’t spend it all the time, at least I know it’s there.  I also enjoy going on dates with my guy—whether it’s to a dinner or watching a movie or whatever fits into our budget.   But I also really enjoy the saving to pay off debt and the saving to get what I want.  And sometimes, after saving all that money for what I want I find that I don’t actually want it anymore.

So even though it might make me stay in debt a little longer, I just can’t see myself changing the small amount of “fun” money I budget into our budget.  I feel that eventually that would just make me stay in debt even longer.  But I am looking forward to some serious debt repayment.

So those are some of the reasons why I budget as I do.

One Comment on “Thoughts on my budgeting ways”

  1. I think it is really important to have some fun money in the budget or else you will feel like life sucks and you are living only to pay debt. And, that’s no fun.


Leave a Reply

