New Shoes

I actually went and purchased some new shoes for myself today.  They were with my personal money and cost me $15.  The whole reason behind me needing to buy them was that I hate buying things for myself.  So much so that when I buy a pair of shoes (for instance) that I will then first find them on sale and then proceed to wear them for 5+ years.

Not the best choice for my feet.  Or so I’ve been told.  I actually had to be forced into this purchase.  While I was there, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to buy my guy some shoes too.  I’m odd that way–its much easier for me to buy things for others than it is for me.

And that  brings me to the moral of this story.  Yes, it is a great idea to have a budget and to stick to it.  Don’t go overboard though.  Think about the necessities that you will or do need.  Include them if you need to–I found this is an excellent way to make me actually purchase something.  When I needed new glasses, I budgeted that in.  That way I couldn’t whine and hide behind my budget.

Are you like me? Do you need to be forced to buy stuff for yourself?

Leave a Reply

