Why wait?

“I’ll start my diet on Monday”, “I’ll start paying debt down next year”, “I’ll start working out next month”, and “Ugh, I missed 2 days to my exercise program so I might as well wait until next week to restart.”  All of these are excuses I’ve used to excuse myself from doing something NOW.  That comment about starting to pay off debt? I made that in a February and wouldn’t allow myself to see the silliness of the comment.  After all, I had missed the New Year’s “deadline” to create goals so I would just save it for the next year.  Which, in case you were wondering, went by and this was not one of my goals.  Instead, I waited another few years to start doing something.

Just this past week I found myself starting to do this cycle of waiting all over again to re-start something.  It started out simple enough: I missed 3 days of work outs and when you add this to the 3 days I had missed the previous week, I really wanted to just say “I’ll wait for…”. But thankfully I recognized the cycle and on Sunday, I got my butt out of bed early and went for a run.  Granted it was a slow jog and I didn’t feel nearly as great as I normally would have but I at least did something.  And yes, on Monday, I was a little bit sore as I re-started Insanity week 3 (missed all but 2 days of this workout the previous week) but I feel better already!

With finances, I try very hard to stay in my routine.  If not, I’m afraid I’ll go back to the old ways.  So yes, I might check accounts every day or look at my budget, but I want to stay on top of things.   And last year, I finally started repaying my debt but I started in September.  It at least got me some momentum going and I was able to come up with a loose plan of attack. The “scariest” part was a few months into following my budget and I didn’t write it down to carry with me.  I hadn’t memorized it yet so didn’t realize how much money was for what category-but we spent anyways.  Thankfully we managed to switch some savings around and stay in budget but I did have a moment where I wanted to say I would start again next month.

The point to all of this is I had no real reason to wait.  There is no time like the present to implement a change.  Waiting to start it a few days probably won’t help you out-it might even hinder you farther.

 

16 Comments on “Why wait?”

  1. Michelle says:

    I’m always telling myself this. I need to stop!

  2. Good post. We all do this in some form or fashion, as it’s so easy to talk yourself out of anything. The problem is those “few days” add up if you’re not careful.

  3. mycanuckbuck says:

    This is so me! I will have “write off” days where since I ate some crap – I might as well just eat more. It’s a bad habit..sigh..

  4. I’m also bad for uttering these words, in terms of finances I kept saying I’d wait to start our emergency fund again (blew through it when I ended up off work earlier than expected w/ pregnancy). I thought, we’ll wait until I start working again, no biggie…i decided even if it’s a small amount every little bit helps, we now have 80.00 in it…peanuts in terms of where I want it back but we’ve started.

  5. I have this problem if I fall off the wagon tracking things in my budget. I tell myself I’ll start fresh the next month. But even if I just keep tracking knowing I might have missed a few items to deduct, it’s still better than nothing.

  6. AverageJoe says:

    Great post. This applies to ice cream as well. “Why wait? It’s good for breakfast, too!”

  7. It is so easy to put things off- you are so right!

    I think that is why I check my accounts so often…I want to stay on track. I don’t want to lose momentum!!!

  8. I do this all the time. It’s self-defeating. Thanks for the reminder to keep going :)

  9. Money Beagle says:

    I think money and eating are the two things people do this with most often. Oh, I’ll get to that diet after the holidays or I’ll get to the money stuff after my next credit card. But, you’re right there’s really no good reason not to start sooner except habit.

  10. I do that too, especially with working out. But I have started running, well one day a week, but it’s a start and I’m actually starting to like it which is huge!

  11. This is so true; procrastination is such a difficult mental barrier to overcome. When I look back at my life, though, the only great things I’ve ever gotten accomplished have happened because I started them right THEN and THERE, without putting them off or waiting for my motivation to die.

  12. You are so right. You can always do something right now. There is no reason to wait. I try to be that way with things in my life. I like to be proactive. I find once you get started you can gain momentum but if you keep putting off starting you never actually accomplish anything.

  13. I couldn’t agree more! The best day to start something is today.

  14. I think a lot of people fall into that trap. But then it continues and then nothing ever gets done. Good for you for recognizing it and trying to do something about it.

  15. Mike says:

    Where’d you go?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers