Run down? 5 ways of dealing with it cheaply

The following is a guest post from My Canuck Buck - a lady who is finally starting to play closer attention to her bucks. Please check her out!

*Editor’s note: Thanks to Cat for helping me out! And uh….that’s my recomendation for being run down.  Take guest posts ;) But seriously, make sure to go visit her site!*

Ever since Labour day, folks seem to be run down – fatigue, cold, flu, sinus infections – you name it. I don’t know if it’s the realization that summer is over, or the change in weather, or just back to school, but it seems like everyone is getting sick.

I haven’t been too bad, but I have had the odd sore throat and the sniffles (don’t know if it’s a cold or allergies). Here are some ways to deal with being sick without breaking the bank.

  1. Stay hydrated. Yup. Just drink water. Doesn’t need to be bottled water, coconut water, vitamin water, or any of that other fancy stuff. Just drink lots of water – I always feel better when I’m hydrated.
  2. For a sore throat – gargle with salt water.   I find it helps cut down on infection and it really does the trick when my throat feels raw. I try to do it in the morning and before I go to bed.
  3. Tea is also great for a sore throat – or some lemon juice and honey. Even just plain hot water can sometimes do the trick if that’s all you have. To save on costs, stock up on tea bags, or hope that your workplace is nice like mine, and supplies options like honey lemon tea!
  4. Pick up Kleenex when it’s on sale.  I tend to buy Kleenex in bulk. For work, I buy just plain Kleenex, as I also use it a napkin, for cleaning my desk,  etc.  For home, sometimes I splurge and get the stuff with the lotion, cause when my nose is red and raw, I really want that extra bit of comfort.
  5. Vaseline, or just the generic stuff – petroleum jelly.  I keep a container of it on my desk at work – it’s great for chapped lips. I also apply it under my nose if it gets raw from blowing it.

And a bonus tip – rest! It costs you nothing, and it’s the best thing to do when you’re run down.

What are some cheap and easy tricks you use for dealing with being run down?

18 Comments on “Run down? 5 ways of dealing with it cheaply”

  1. Michelle says:

    I try to drink a lot of water, tea and gatorade when I’m feeling especially run down.

  2. Good tips, especially drinking water. Dehydration can make you feel tired as well. Although I don’t have one, getting a humidifier-ok not cheap. Epsom salt baths are a great way to relax and it’s also great for easing aches and pains. Limiting social plans and other “obligations.” Reducing sugar helps the immune system. Staying away from dairy can help a lot of those with intolerances avoid congestion. And of course, more sleep!

  3. John S @ Frugal Rules says:

    Great tips, especially the water. Both my wife and I have Nalgene bottles and I tend to drink at least 3 full bottles a day. In order to break up the monotony I also drink iced tea or some low calorie lemonade.

  4. I think “get rest” shouldn’t be a bonus, but should go to #1 on teh list! Man when you’re not well rested, you feel bad, you feel rundown, and you open yourself up for getting sick. But when you’re well rested, you’re far more sick-invincible!!

  5. ^ what TB said. 10 hours of sleep is my cure-all for any sickness. That, and garlic… :)

  6. The first thing I do when I get up is drink a bottle of water to hydrate myself. The worst thing you can do is make a cup of coffee or tea first and dehydrate further. Great tips here. Cheers MR.CBB

  7. Great list but don’t forget the ultimate free cure, Sleep! Sounds obvious but I think most of us neglect it!

  8. AverageJoe says:

    I’m gonna jump on the rest train, too. I’ve switched my schedule to go to bed early and up early. Now I don’t feel like I’m craving a nap halfway through the day anymore.

  9. Ian says:

    I drink a lot of green tea which helps to keep me healthy. I also take fish oil regularly, and if I’m feeling really poorly I’ll double the dose.

    They aren’t “cheap” options, but I value my health highly and budget accordingly. :)

    As for sleep, I’m the worst for burning candles at both ends. Should really get onto that!

  10. I usually just try to sleep. It seems to cure everything!

  11. Water and Tea are key. My allergy medicine makes me super dehydrated, so I drink water nonstop all day.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers